Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

DIY- Ribbon Organizer October 23, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:49 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last night I saw this picture my friend pinned on Pinterest:

Click on the picture to find Shannon Wight’s blog post

I instantly loved it because right now this is my current ribbon storage solution:

Needs some work huh?

I thought it seemed like an easy project and it would create instant impact {visually and organizationally}.  I was so excited that I immediately started looking online to purchase my own glass straw holder so I could make my own ribbon holder.  I found a few on Amazon that were a good price, but I really wanted to do this project ASAP and online shopping = waiting for it to ship.  So I actually stopped at Bed Bath & Beyond on my way home from work today to pick up my own glass straw holder.  It was a bit pricier than ordering online, but after I used my handy five dollar coupon it was about ten dollars with tax.

When I got home I took off all the stickers and took out the straws that came with the thing {what do I need those for?}.  I removed the lid and realized that the bottom section had some washers holding it to the main pole that runs the length of the canister.  I found a wrench {I think that’s what it’s called} and easily took off two sets of washers and spikey rings {sorry I don’t know hardware!}.

After that I realized that most of my ribbon spools would not fit in the canister.  I got out my scissors and started trimming the edges of the spools.  I took the bottom tray and used it as a ruler to figure out just how much to trim each spool.

Spools of Ribbon and their Trimmings

I organized the ribbons into a rainbow order and reattached the bottom tray onto the main pole.  I slid the whole thing into the glass holder and:

Voilà, my very own ribbon organizer!

 

4 Responses to “DIY- Ribbon Organizer”

  1. ping pang ;) Says:

    Instant Inspiration!

  2. Katie Rose Says:

    Ooo I like this a lot!

  3. Peggy Says:

    Way cool – thanks for giving Shannon/pinterest the original credit but I like too that you walked through the steps – that makes it easy for all of us! Now, where’s my BBB coupon?

  4. [...] .July.- ‘M’ Button Initial .Aug.- Photo Strip Photo Frame .Sept.- Glass Block Bank .Oct.- Ribbon Organizer .Nov.- Earring Organizer .Dec.- [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers