Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Favorite Place October 14, 2010

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 1:40 am
Tags: , , ,

In case you were wondering, the Leinenkugel advertisements are true. There is something magical about the Northwood’s of Wisconsin. It starts with the air, crisp and clean with a hint of earthy delight that goes straight to your toes no matter the season.

In the summer, hummingbirds zip by with their fellow sparrows and gold finches racing around treetop to treetop. During the fall, a myriad of reds, oranges and yellows leave a breathtaking reflection in the water that even Monet would kill to paint. In the winter, chipmunks scurry leaving the smallest tracks in the snow I have ever seen. Spring brings back the life once hidden under four feet of snow; green grass, fawns, and my personal favorite – fishing.

In the 70’s before my parents were even married, my father and Opa (grandfather in German) bought a piece of land in the Northwood’s of Wisconsin. The property is in the shape of a pie piece with the largest portion abutting a small, fortyish acre lake. Atop a hill sits a little yellow house with a wrap-around deck built by my parents, grandparents and the help of a few aunts, uncles and neighbors.

There is no other place I’d rather be than sitting on that deck. I can count on our neighbor’s dog to visit, usually leaning on me with his tawny eyes pleading for a scratch behind his ears. I’ve got a cup of tea or beer – pending what time it is during the day.  My feet are propped up on the railing and I’m basking in the sun thinking about all the great memories I have made up at the lake.

It’s the place my Opa taught me how to fish, where I learned how to drive a car, won a few basketball tournaments and made my first s’more.

The lake house holds traditions like snowshoe baseball every Monday night with my Dad, shopping the Boardwalk with my Mom or going to the local Lion’s Beerfest as a family.

It’s a place that I want to share with people important in my life and a spot where I am looking forward to taking my own family. Even though I’ve been to many exceptional places in the world, the lake house will always be my favorite.

What’s your favorite place?

My favorite place in Northern Wisconsin

 

Leave a Reply

