Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Did You Know? October 19, 2010

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 1:02 am
Tags:

I had to laugh to myself the other day while I was driving down the Stevenson to work because I passed one of those blue signs that said, “Accident Investigation Site ½ Mile.” This made me laugh because I remembered a conversation I had with Eric and two of our favorite double date companions, my friend Hollice and her boyfriend Kevin. Somehow the topic came up of embarrassing things that we didn’t know until an embarrassing age.

Kevin, on our double date, admitted that he believed until recently that those Accident Investigation Site signs on the side of the road were from an extreme accident a long time ago that was still being investigated. We all had a good laugh and kept up the confessions. Hollice shared with us that she thought a “pearl necklace” was the same as anal beads. I laughed til I cried.

I have since learned that my other friends have little secrets of their own. One person didn’t know what the Twin Towers were when 9/11 hit. One would receive emails from “Donotreply” and thought it was from a man named “Don Otreply.” I asked Eric what he didn’t know, but unfortunately, I live with a human encyclopedia that I lovingly nickname, “Google” so he didn’t have anything funny to add.

I, of course, am like Mary Poppins (Practically perfect in every way) and I know everything as well. Psych! You’re reading a blog entry by someone that thought men had one less rib than women because God used one of the man’s ribs to create a woman until senior year of high school when I announced this to my biology class and had to be corrected. Luckily, it’s not as bad as my mom, who thought men had one less rib than women until my senior year of high school, when I come home embarrassed and had to break the news to her.

Don’t be embarrassed – let us know what YOU didn’t know!


 

 

 

Leave a Reply

