Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Eat Green Live Well November 10, 2010

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 9:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I adored the father in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Gus Portokalos, who would trace any English word to its Grecian origin, whether it be “orange” or “apple”. Following Gus’s example, I’ve recently learned a new Greek word, prasino, meaning “green”.

Being a huge fan of reducing my carbon footprint, shopping locally, and recycling, to name a few things, I love it when I find other companies or organizations that are dedicated to sustainability.

A new family-owned restaurant recently opened up in a western suburb of Chicago called prasino.  The owners of prasino have fully incorporated the green principle: from the food that is prepared, to the cleaning products used, to the overall design of the restaurant.

Starting with the kitchen – it was planned to reduce energy and water use, include recycling and use eco-friendly cleaning products.

The food on your plate – prasino’s uses seasonal and organic food from Heritage Prairie Farm, a 13 acre family farm located 40 miles west of downtown Chicago.

The restaurant itself – light fixtures are crafted from recycled wine bottles and cardboard boxes, tabletops incorporate wood rescued from the demolition of Sportsman’s Park Race Track, and floors are reclaimed oak planks salvaged from a barn.

And the food is AMAZING! My favorites include the butternut squash ravioli and the turkey blue burger. Try either with Samuel Smith’s raspberry organic ale.

I find myself using a multitude of reasons to go there with my fellow uncharted authors and I’ve even dragged my parents.  I encourage you to check it out, drag your own friends and family members to see how being green can support your local economy, is chic, and most importantly, tasty.

 

Leave a Reply

