Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Expect the Unexpected November 16, 2010

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 9:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Its official, the big exciting work change I was talking about awhile ago has come through and I am moving from the corporate office to a manufacturing plant!  I will still be working for the same company, but in a different location with a different title, not to mention a bit of a different wardrobe.  I signed the offer letter Friday, but I won’t be starting in the new place until December.  That leaves me stuck in the middle until then.

Training there, trying to transition everything here, saying hello, saying goodbye…it puts me in a weird position when I’m not leaving the company but I’m leaving the people I work with everyday.  It might be cliché to say, but I work with some of my best friends.  I’m with them for most of my waking life.  I’ve been so very lucky to get to work with people I actually like and admire and judging by their sweet good luck notes, they like me too!  I’m unsure of how our relationships will be going forward and to be honest I try not to think about it too much because it makes me sad.

If you haven’t heard me say it before, I’ll say it again:

I am not one for change.

When I was in Jr. High I wondered why I had to go to High School.  At the end of High School I wondered why I had to go to College.  The answer is, That is what’s expected.  This is one of the first times in my life that I’ve made the decision for a big change on my own, without a prescribed way of doing things.  It isn’t traditional to go from the corporate office to a manufacturing plant.  But I’ve learned that each time I make a big change something good comes from it.  It’s these changes that make me who I am.  Now I just have to take a big breath and go for it…

 

Leave a Reply

