Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Love My Life November 28, 2010

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 9:02 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m so sorry I wasn’t around last week. The truth of the matter is that I was stuck in a horrible aiport waiting for an airplane to bring me home. I have recently become somewhat of a nervous flyer in the sense that when the plane starts to shake from turbulence, I grab my arm rests with white knuckles and squeeze my eyes closed and pray that we make it to the ground. I’m not kidding, I literally get concerned we may not touch the ground softly. Regardless,  I had the best vacation ever and I am so thankful to have had the experience of traveling to the Bahamas, especially when I am poor.

I must say though, the Thanksgiving and Chistmas time has inspired me to give back. This means that I want to give time and money to people that need something. I considered donating a kidney, blood, money, etc. and I decided that the charity that needs me most is the Les Turner ALS Foundation. I made a committment to this foundation a while ago and I always go back to these people with Lou Gehrig’s Disease as people who need my help. Juliana Marguiles also began a progran for folks with ALS and this inspires me more. Please, if you can spare any money at all this Christmas and want to make a big difference for families that suffer from this disease, donate even $5 for folks with ALS. I donate money from myself and from my company to help with research and making sufferers of this disease more comfortable. These folks have to watch their  bodies deteriorate as their mind stays completely in tact.

Please help: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amyotrophic_lateral_sclerosis

These are people that did not have the same Thanksgiving that we did. They appreciate anything that you can donate and any way you can help.

 

2 Responses to “Love My Life”

  1. I stumbled across your blog and wanted to share with you our family’s experience with ALS. You can visit http://itsdaddiesplural.blogspot.com/search/label/ALS and scroll to the bottom for the first entry and read up.

    • Kate Says:

      Thank you so much for sharing your blog and your story with us! Your family is in my thoughts and prayers. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help!


Leave a Reply

