Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

It’s definitely NOT bike season… December 2, 2010

Filed under: Sarah,Uncategorized — Uncharted @ 11:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

…but I decided this would be the perfect time to shop for one.  You see, since over a year ago when cycling stores were having their annual ‘end of summer’ sales, I began drooling over road bikes.  I finally decided it was time to make one my own.  And boy, am I a happy girl!

It all started my senior year in college, when I was recruited to ride in the “Little 500” cycling race on the Delta Gamma team.  For those of you who may not be from the Midwest or have not heard of the “Little 500,” it is the mini-version of the Indy 500 Nascar race held annually in Indianapolis.  The bike race was started at Indiana University, and has since gained popularity among many Indiana colleges.

Training to ride a 30 mile race on a track, inches away from the tires of the bike in front of me, whizzing by at a heart racing speed of 32 miles an hour was not what I had in mind for spring semester of my senior year.  However, training to ride in that race was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had.  I got closer to girls I may have never crossed paths with had I not raced, explored the outdoor beauty of our ‘boring Midwest,’ and got the fresh air my body needed among spending days in the musty library or fraternity houses reeking of stale beer.  And that spring made me realize that someday I HAD to own a road bike!

The DG team, SO proud of our race!

So here we are.  This year, I decided instead of asking for a bunch of random things that I may or may not need, I would pool together money from Christmas and my birthday to purchase something I’ve been considering for a while now.  I’ve spent months researching, and fell in love.  The problem was that my love wasn’t true to just one bike.  After visiting potential future bikes, I was between about 4.  While collecting information from various bike shops about these beauties, I also had to admit to many of the salespeople that I did want something sassy looking 🙂 .

Tonight I went on my 5th test ride of the week (I couldn’t feel my fingers and my nose was runny by the end of the ride, but it was worth it!) and I found THE ONE.  Check her out…she’s a 2011 Giant Avail 3 in black, white and pink.  Smart AND sassy, just like I wanted.  I can’t wait to have her in my hands (since they didn’t have the color I wanted at the store, it’s getting shipped next week).  I’m sure I’ll have dreams of her every night from now until next Thursday.  Now I just need to give her a name…

 

One Response to “It’s definitely NOT bike season…”

  1. Marissa Lavieri Says:

    LOVE IT!

    I got myself a Schwinn FastBack built one of a kind by a bicycle mechanic last Spring. You will love it! All you need is some clip-ins! Happy Riding!!!! ITB


Leave a Reply

