Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

A Fun Find December 30, 2010

This week, my dear friend Karla and I had arranged a day date to spend some time together over our holiday breaks.  My friends and I are all about free finds and good bargains, so we thought we’d see if there were any good free days at the Chicago museums on Tuesday.  Sadly, there was nothing available so we thought we’d just do lunch instead.  As a last ditch effort, I thought I’d do a quick Google search about “free Chicago” on that particular date.  What I found was pretty sweet!

I immediately texted Karla and said I had found something good, but I think she was kind of sketched out my crypticness because I wasn’t giving her much detail over text.  When she got to my place, I excitedly told her about my find.  Apparently Kraft foods distributed a grant in conjunction with the Chicago Public Library to get Chicago area families to use their library resources more frequently, and have the opportunity to visit more museums throughout the year.

How it works is, if you are an adult Chicago Public Library card holder, you can go to any branch and check out a Kraft Kids Museum Passport for any of 14 sweet locations in the city.  Passes available include, but are not limited to: the Field Museum, the Brookfield Zoo, the Chicago Botanic Gardens, and our choice for Tuesday, the Art Institute of Chicago.  Now I know you’re probably thinking “what the heck is this almost 26 year old woman doing getting a KIDS museum passport for her and her other 26 year old friend…what a nut!”  But don’t worry, I called the museum and checked to make sure it doesn’t look like I’m trying to rip the library off by checking out the passport for 2 grownups, and the guy said grownups check them out for themselves all the time 😛

So Karla and I embarked upon our journey on the El down to the Loop.  We were, as usual when we find something free in combination with a cultural experience, quite excited.  We waited in line with all the other fools who were going to pay $18 apiece for their admission tickets, and proudly showed our pass to get in and save ourselves $36.  We had a lovely day exploring and learning new things on our day date.  I particularly enjoyed teasing Karla in the ornate furniture exhibit, assigning her new designs to try to recreate during her new furniture rehabilitation proejct.  It was also fun visiting the contemporary art exhibits and commenting on how it’s so interesting how some things come to be considered art.  We had an amazing time, and I already took my pass back to exchange it to the one for the Field Museum.  I might even take my family there for the day tomorrow!  Gosh, I love a good free find.

This is what I think Karla's next project should be...don't you think she could handle it?

 

Myself in the Chicago model area of the museum

 

One Response to “A Fun Find”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sarah Ostrowski, Sarah Ostrowski. Sarah Ostrowski said: https://unchartedchicago.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/a-fun-find/ […]


Leave a Reply

