Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Simple ways to be thoughtful. March 3, 2011

Last week was a rough week for me.  I was having a hard time sleeping, standardized testing at school was fast approaching, and I was getting sick.  Sometimes when you’re having a rough week (or in general, a rough patch in life), the little things really make a big difference.  

One day a student from my team member Linda’s class came in with a wrapped package for me.  She said I should just open it, that Linda said I would understand.  Inside was a box of mix for key lime cheesecake bars.  I had complimented Linda on them when she brought them for meeting treats for the team, and told her how much I LOVE cheesecake.  She had gone to the store where she got them only to find that they did not sell them anymore. So she went online and had them SHIPPED to her to give to me at school.  I smiled, and felt a little better.

The next day,  a student from my team member Arlen’s class came in with a card for me.  It was just to say hi and that she’s happy we’re ‘teacher friends,’ and that she hoped I was having a good week.  I smiled, and felt a little better.

A few days later, I got a phone call from my friend Ashley, who I haven’t heard from in a while.  I missed it, and she left a message. We haven’t been able to chat yet, but just to know that she was thinking about me and called was nice.  I smiled, and my week was looking up.

I know it sounds super cheesy, but when life is stressing you out, the people who take the time to do something small to cheer you up (whether they realize you are stressed out or not) really help.  I’m looking forward to making those key lime cheesecake bars to share with my fellow Uncharted authors at a little dinner party we’re having this weekend.  Because you all know already from my past posts and my bio, that baking is my small way of spreading a little cheer.

Hopefully mine will look this good!

 

Leave a Reply

