Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Techno-not-so-savvy March 11, 2011

Filed under: Sarah — Uncharted @ 1:28 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I was going to write this week to tell you how awesome our demonstration of stamping went at the dinner party this past Saturday, but I forgot to take pictures while we were crafting!  So instead, I’m going to leave it at that…the cards were awesome.  I’m so proud of my craftastic friends and how they really take a craft bull by the horns and make something all their own!

Now, on to what’s been on my mind lately. 

On Wednesday night I was at my parents’ house for our weekly installment of family dinner.  After dinner we were watching the Wednesday night shows we all enjoy (even though my grandfather often scoffs at how inappropriate things on a rather innocent show like Modern Family can be).  I looked over to see my mother sending a text message on her pink Razr phone.  About halfway into the show, I glanced over and she was still at it!  Normally parents have to tell their children to stop texting in front of company, but this time I had to say something to my own mother.  I asked who she was texting, and why didn’t she just call the person if the conversation was still continuing over text?  She replied to the tune of “what do you mean, still continuing?  I’m still working on the first text!”  At that point, I realized it had taken my mother about 10-15 minutes to send a novel of a text message, in perfect grammar, to my little brother. 

Sometimes I get text messages from my dad that say things like “luv u” and “whatchupto.”  When I first started receiving such texts a year or so ago, I was (I’ll admit it) a little frightened.  Now I laugh at them and almost find them endearing. 

I’ve had many of my friends’ parents friend me on Facebook, too.  Not that there’s anything wrong with my profile and I don’t want them to see it or whatnot.  I just feel like there’s something slightly wrong when you’re out to dinner with your friend’s family and they say they’re going to “Facebook you” when they get home. 

Our parents are people too.  So why can’t I seem to grasp the fact that they would want to be a part of all the new technology out there?  Maybe it goes back to when I was 10 and my dad brought his first brick of a laptop home from work and I basically had to teach him how to use it (though I don’t think I was that much of a help past teaching him learn how to play minesweeper, the only game that came pre-programmed).  Whatever it is, I’m starting to wonder what our kids will laugh at us for someday.  I can picture myself 30 years from now, sitting on some fancy ‘green’ couch, watching a solar-powered television with my kids while they tease me for not being able to work the brain chip that automatically sends your thoughts through space to whoever they’re directed toward.  And when that day comes, I’ll accept the teasing and remember how I felt when I was 26.

 

Leave a Reply

