Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Thoughts on The Big Apple March 23, 2011

Last week I had my first chance to visit New York City.  One of my good friends invited me to tag along on a girls weekend to visit her young sister with their mom. So naturally, I said yes!

Being a planner, I respectfully submitted my spreadsheet of things to do a month in advance of our trip. I’m happy to report that everything on that spreadsheet got crossed off. What I didn’t expect was to do additional amazing things thanks to the fabulous recommendations from those I traveled with.

Here are few observations from my first trip to NYC:

  • Rarely heard a “true” New York accent. The city was full of international folks from Irish to German to Swedish to Russian.
  • I thought Las Vegas was the city that never sleeps. Apparently, neither does New York.
  • Carnegie Deli serves inhumanly large delicious portions – from cheesecake to Rueben’s bring your appetite and another person to help you eat everything!
  • Check out the ceiling at Grand Central Terminal if you forget your Zodiac sign.
  • Your neck may get a little sore from admiring the towering views.
  • I could buy out the entire Fishs Eddy Store.
  • Bring your shades for Times Square at night.
  • Danielle Radcliffe can really dance and sing. One step closer to being something more than just Harry Potter.
  • Planet Doughnut is a must eat location that was not originally on my spreadsheet. (That’s why you travel with friends who have favorite and AMAZING places to eat!)
  • I saw one mouse in the subway and technically that was in New Jersey.
  • You’ll get your bearings off in Central Park with North, South, East, West but the city is easy to navigate.
  • The best restaurants or bars only have five tables that comfortably sit two.
  • St. Patrick’s Cathedral reminded me of Notre Dame – from the interior architecture to the lighting inside.
  • You’re never too old to ride the Ferris wheel, especially when it has a My Little Pony carriage.
  • NYC was surprisingly clean of garbage for no allies.
  • The High Line was flipping amazing. I didn’t feel like I was in the city.  I would love to see something like this in Chicago.
  • Learned a ton at Ellis Island. The museum puts old school immigration in focus. Hard to believe that people (my mom included) came to this country on a boat.
  • While rowing a boat in Central Park, stay low when switching places.
  • The Statue of Liberty is really green.
  • Ground Zero is a sobering location yet bustling with activity.
  • Café Lalo, makes me drool just thinking about it.
  • A 48-hour lock-in at the Metropolitan Museum of Art is still not enough time for me to explore this building.
  • Loved catching up with friends and family.
  • I want to go back at least five more times ok, maybe ten.

New York City

 

4 Responses to “Thoughts on The Big Apple”

  1. Lei Curtis Says:

    Remember that was something like my moms 30th time going there, and she still loves every minute of being in NYC…i think that you can pull off more then ten time 😉

  2. Andrea Says:

    I love NYC! You should go to Magnolia Bakery on your next trip – amazing cupcakes.


Leave a Reply

