Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Stuffed to the Brim March 29, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 5:44 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Saturday morning I was craving meat {because for some reason the moment you tell me I cannot have something, I want it}.  I was raised a Catholic {maybe that’s why?} and although I don’t agree with everything in the church, I do participate in Lent and the requisite no-meat Fridays.  People like to ask me why and I think for me it’s because I like the challenge and tradition of it.  I’m not sure God is going to send me to Heaven for it, but I think it’s a nice way to show I’m thinking about him.  Wow, I am way off my point now, but onwards and upwards!  I rummaged through the fridge and found some bacon and some mushrooms and decided to find a recipe that involved both of these.  I ended up finding a stuffed mushroom recipe on About.com that Diana Rattray submitted.  The fact that cream cheese is a main ingredient sold me.

Here is what you need:

*        1 pound medium fresh mushrooms

*        4 Bacon slices diced

*        1/2 cup minced onion, or use part green onion

*        2 tablespoons Minced fresh green pepper (I used red)

*        1 teaspoon Salt

*        1/8 teaspoon Pepper

*        3 ounces Cream cheese, room temperature

*        1/2 cup fine dry bread crumbs, plain

*        1/4 cup Hot water

Here is what you do {my notes are in green}:

Clean mushrooms, remove and chop stems; set aside. Keep the stems for later

Fry bacon in a heavy skillet.  Remove with a slotted spoon and set on paper towels to drain. In bacon drippings, saute onion, green pepper, and chopped mushroom stems (here is why you needed to keep the stems) until tender; drain (I scooped the veggies with the slotted spoon and used another spoon to press out the excess grease).   Add salt and pepper.

Soften cream cheese; blend in cooked/crumbled bacon and vegetables. Press mixture firmly into mushroom caps, mounding a bit.

I wanted to Eat these right about now

Place bread crumbs in a small bowl. Turn filled mushroom caps upside down and press gently in the bread crumbs to coat tops.

Can you spot Harlo?

Place in a 9 x 13 x 2-inch baking dish (I used an 8.5 x8.5 pan).  Add hot water to pan and bake, uncovered, 20 to 25 minutes (I left them in for 30) at 325 degrees.  Makes about 2 1/2 dozen stuffed mushrooms (half a pound for me was 9 1/2 mushrooms and I used all the filling!)

Thank Goodness I have kept to my Lenten Promise of exercising every other day so I don’t have to feel so bad about eating a majority of these mushrooms!

Into the Oven they Go

 

Leave a Reply

