Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Travel Time! April 5, 2011

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 12:14 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sorry y’all that I’m a little late on my post… I still wanted to make sure I got it out there.

Summer time is on it’s way. Summer in Chicago is one of my favorite things in the World. The weather warms up nicely, the restaurants open their patios for cocktails and meals (see below for a list of some of my faves!), I get to play outside! I can’t wait! On that note, summer is also the time where business slows a bit and everyone takes vacations… which is exactly what I am about to do.

Unlike Karla, who’s been having opportunities to travel to big, beautiful cities (jealous!), I am on my way to Scottsdale, Arizona… a small, desert suburb of Phoenix, known for hosting our precious Chicago baseball teams in Spring Training, Arizona State University and home to thousands of my “favorite” creatures… including (but not limited to): Scorpions, Bobcats and  Coyotes.

Ah the desert… hot, dry and lots of sand. Let’s hope we don’t get stranded anywhere, or I may have to whip out my “desert survival skills” checklist that I may or may not have printed off and packed to take with me. First and Foremost… we’ll need water. I am now equipped with the knowledge of how to gather water in the desert, how to filter it, when to eat/rest, how to travel and most importantly, what to wear (light colors, tuck in shirts and pant legs). I’m so excited for my adventure!

I’ll be sure to keep you all posted on how the trip goes. Good thing we’re not flying Southwest, or we might not make it there (or back).

Lastly, as promised, here is a list of some of my favorite Chicago restaurants/bars with outdoor seating:

Sportz Corner (Addison and Sheffield… roof)

Cafe Ba-ba Reeba (Halstead)

The Fireplace Inn (Wells)

Goose Island (Wrigleyville)

El Mariachi (Broadway)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

