Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

New Projects! April 6, 2011

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 6:26 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Now that warmer weather has returned to the Chicago area I can begin work on a few new projects on my “outdoor studio,” a.k.a. the back porch. Last year, I was able to tackle – with the detailed assistance from Kelly – four end tables, a telephone table and a china cabinet. So I know you’re wondering what’s in store for this year! Over the winter, I’ve been slowly but surely collecting new pieces to refurbish…and I still might be looking for more ☺.

One of my first projects to refinish is a solid cedar dresser. My aunt gave me a lot of furniture pieces from her father, who passed away last year, and this is one of those pieces. The dresser is currently residing in our entryway and needs to be spruced up if it is going to be in the first place our visitors see.

Project 1

Here’s my idea: replace original hardware that is oversized and looks childish and use a dark brown stain treatment.

What I’ve done so far: ventured to Hobby Lobby last weekend to score new hardware. The staff members probably thought I was crazy because I plopped down in the middle of the aisle, took out one of my current knobs and lined up four potential new knobs. For about 15 minutes I stared, deliberated, and talked out loud until I finally came to my choice.

New Hardware for Project 1

I think the new knobs will look pretty sweet with the dark brown stain I’ve got planned. What do you think?

The other project is this cute little wicker shelf. Coming home from a run this weekend, I found it sitting by the trash waiting to be picked up. I thought Kelly and I could provide it a nice new home on our back porch.

Project 2

Here’s my idea: spray paint! Scrounging around our pantry I found two spray paint colors, one green and the other ivory. Wanting to add a punch of color to our porch I’m leaning towards the green. I’ll show you the final results next week!

Stay tuned for updates on these projects and other new projects scheduled for the summer!

 

Leave a Reply

