Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Relay for Life Update April 13, 2011

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 7:18 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

In February, I told our readers about my involvement with Relay for Life. In that post I included some big numbers about those affected by cancer. I have a few happier numbers to report in this time! This past weekend was my fourth Relay for Life event where:

  • We exceeded our fundraising goal by $2,000
  • Over 200 participants attended
  • 6 hours were spent selling concessions with Kelly
  • 25 teams registered
  • $12 made by me personally selling cotton candy for 25 cents around the track
  • 1 band and 1 comedian performed
  • 60 burgers were eaten
  • Along with 40 Italian beef sandwiches
  • And 70 hot dogs
  • My team raised $1,724
  • 4 local restaurants donated food
  • 47 balloons were blown and tied in 20 minutes to create a beautiful balloon arch
  • 32 kids got their face painted
  • 25 games of bags (also known as corn-hole) were played
  • I walked three laps dedicated to the three people I have lost to cancer

This year’s Relay for Life was undeniably successful. All the students and staff worked together to produce a magnificent event. The weather even cooperated by spreading rays of sun down on us with mid-seventy degree weather.  Overall, it was wonderful day to remember those who have battled cancer, those we have lost and those who are fighting back against the disease.

I encourage you to learn more about Relay for Life and the American Cancer Society today. And a huge thank-you to all who supported me individually with donations or contributing their time day of the event!

Walking the Balloon Arch to the Stage

 

One Response to “Relay for Life Update”

  1. […] I said I need to document better:  There was donations in January, school painting in February, Relay for Life in April, MS Walk in May, Adopted a Kitty in August, Swap and Shoe Drive in November, Operation […]


Leave a Reply

