Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Blogging Machine April 14, 2011

Filed under: Sarah — Uncharted @ 4:42 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Blogging for Uncharted has really instilled a hunger in me.  When Kelly first approached us with the blogging idea, I liked it but I wasn’t sure I’d be fab at it.  I’ll explain something to you that may help you understand this: I consider myself severely technologically disabled.  It’s not that I don’t like working with technology, I do!  It’s just that every piece of technology I seem to touch becomes plagued by an irreversible something-or-other a few weeks or months into my project.  Technology is finicky, and I blame it on myself often.

Over the years, I’ve become more adept at teaching myself how to use technology properly and I feel like since I started blogging for Uncharted only a few short months ago, I have started enjoying it more.  I can even tell you that I am the proud owner of two other blogs!  But don’t worry, if you didn’t already know you’re not really missing anything, because they consist of my electronic portfolio and a classroom blog for my students.  However, I am proud of them nonetheless because I feel like blogging is more than just a way to share your thoughts and ramblings, but also a good way to showcase yourself and others!  I don’t expect to become a full-time blogger anytime soon (or ever) but the entertainment piece of it keeps me going.

For those of you that know me or read Uncharted often, you already know that I am moving to Colorado and am currently in the throws of looking for a teaching job there.  And for those of you that don’t know me or just stumbled upon us today, now you do know!  Four years ago when I graduated from college (wow, has it really been THAT long?!) I created a brick of a required portfolio in a 3 inch binder to graduate with my degree in Elementary Education.  Well, things change a lot in four years, because this time around electronic portfolios seem to be all the rage.  I used WordPress to create mine, because I already know how to use it and I will admit it is quite user-friendly.  You can find it here if anyone you know is looking to make an electronic portfolio themselves.  I was really proud of it when I was finished!

I got on such a blogging kick that I decided to start a classroom blog with my students.  Unfortunately I can’t share that one with you because it’s limited to their parents and families (due to the fact that there are a lot of crazies out there who shouldn’t be looking at 10 year olds’ blogs, school requested I make it a private site), but I will tell you that I haven’t seen them so excited since the day before we let out for Christmas break when I told them we’d be starting a blog!  It was so cute, they totally think they’re hot stuff right now, blogging articles about classroom happenings and putting their poetry on display.

Blog on! 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Blogging Machine”

  1. Lei Curtis Says:

    Sarah your teaching blog looks amazing (not that I expected anything less) I think that it is suck a great idea, and such a wonderful way for other teachers to see the success in your classroom. I am so proud of you my dear!!!

    🙂

    • Uncharted Says:

      Thanks, Lei! It means a lot to have a friend and fellow teacher say that 🙂 I hope you know how proud I am of you too…your work at your show was amazing and I’m glad it made it onto Uncharted, as well!


Leave a Reply

