Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Start with a Bang! April 25, 2011

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 12:10 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

The  new family Easter tradition? Drive out to a shooting range and fire off a few rounds at a target. I’m being serious. This is what my family did for Easter weekend.

We decided a new family bonding experience could freshen up our time together, not that we ever have trouble finding fun things to do (going out to eat, family vacations or going out to Great America).  So with the schedule in place, my Dad, two brothers, sister and my hunny, I headed out to the shooting range.

Now I’ve shot guns before, in fact, I’ve been firing at targets since I was 5 years old. I used to find shooting a rifle strangely satisfying… checking out where on the target the bullet hit and how close I was to where I was aiming. After this weekend, I also feel empowered. This weekend I shot my first handgun… and I shot several kinds. We had a .22 revolver (formerly my Grandpa’s), a .38 revolver, a Colt .45 and a 9mm semi-automatic police-type gun with a laser. I shot all 4, but as surprisingly as this may be, had the best luck with the Colt.

Not sure how much you all know about guns, but the number (.45, .38, etc.) refers to the size of the bullet. A .45 is a BIG bullet. As a result, when you shoot a firearm with a short barrel and a big bullet (ie the Colt .45) you are going to experience a bit of a kick back… meaning lock your elbows or you will hit yourself in the head. I got a workout in just from firing these bad boys!

I’m all for gun safety and I respect firearms immensely. I’m not one of those people who is going to tell everyone that they should own one, but what I can tell you is that there is something very exciting about going to the shooting range and firing at a target. I like the symbolism of it all… aim for something you want, work hard to get it there and then observe your success and learn from it for your next bullet (or goal). It’s scary, yes, but also makes you feel strong and you learn a lot. It’s quite the experience.

Everyone had a great time and stayed safe. If you’re looking for more information about guns or about placing to go to a shooting range, let me know. I’d be happy to share what I know! I vote,  let the new Easter Tradition continue!

 

Leave a Reply

