Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Spreading Joy with Paper…and SPRING GIVEAWAY! April 28, 2011

The cards in the giveaway...2 birthday, 1 thank you, 1 baby, 1 blank...all with matching envelopes

On Monday night this week, I decided that I’m going to start a new monthly tradition for myself: card crafting.  Some of you who visit often or know me and my love of being ‘craftastic’ (a term that Karla has coined) might be wondering why I am making it a tradition, since I seem to be doing it all the time.  Well, the difference is that I decided I’m going to set aside one or two days each month at the beginning of the month to check out my calendar, observe whose birthdays are coming up, and make birthday cards for the month.

This month is the first of hopefully many months of following through with this new tradition.  Everyone loves some shared happiness on their birthday (I particularly love it in snail mail form), or on any other random special occasion for which you choose to send them a little piece of ‘paper joy.’  While crafting my cards this month, I came up with a few simple tips for you Uncharted readers out there who also like to craft and send homemade cards to friends and family.  These tips will (some with a bit more practice than others) become easy tools to throw in your repertoire of papercrafting to take the elegance level of your products up a notch.

…try an embellishment.  This can be anything from buttons to glitter to ribbon.  Whatever it is, use it tastefully and don’t try to combine too many elements on one card.  One or two will do the trick.  This is the easiest way to spice up your cards and make them exponentially more exciting and pretty!

…try adding dimension.  Layering paper is a super simple way to add some flair to your cards and make them look much higher-quality.  You can also use adhesives like ‘dimensionals’ (found at many craft stores, or you can buy them through a Stampin’ Up demonstrator like me!) to ‘prop up’ various paper elements on your cards and heighten them from the basic card.

…try adding texture.  This one might take some practice, but it’s worth it!  If you have a die-cut machine, they often have embossing inserts.  But if you don’t, you can get ink and embossing powder at your local craft store and heat them either with an embossing gun or a good hairdryer and some patience to get this beautiful textured effect.

…try adding paper shapes.  The layering I mentioned before is great, but what really gets people talking about your cards is cute accents like flowers, butterflies, or cupcakes.  You can either use paper punches or free-hand cut (you might need to do more than one try if sometimes your scissors fight with you like mine do when cutting small shapes) for paper accents on your base card.

…try a SPRING GIVEAWAY!  That’s right, to get you started on your joy-spreading papercrafting, I’m giving away a set of 5 heavyweight cardstock spring-themed cards.  They all include one or two of my tips to give you ideas, or just so you can ‘cheat’ and claim them as your own when you give them to your friends and family 🙂   Same rules apply to this giveaway as did with Kelly’s earlier in the year…

1) Subscribe to the Uncharted blog.It’s easy: Find the green box on the right hand side of the page that says, ‘Subscribe.’ If you are logged into WordPress just click ‘Sign me Up!’  If you are not logged in, type in your email address and click ‘ Sign me up.’  If you have already subscribed, you can skip this step.

2) Leave a comment on this post about a cute card you’ve received, a card you’ve sent, or just an occasion you like to give or receive cards in honor of!

The giveaway entries will officially close on Wednesday, May 4th at 6:00 PM, and I will announce the winner (who has, of course, been picked at random from our number-choosing website) in my next post on Thursday, May 5th.  Good luck! 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Spreading Joy with Paper…and SPRING GIVEAWAY!”

  1. Stephanie K. Says:

    I love sending (and receiving!) homemade cards and I’m always looking for fun, new ideas. What a fun give-away!

    • Kellypockets Says:

      I love buying the brightly colored blank cards from the Target $1 bins and sending them to friends and family just for fun!

      • Uncharted Says:

        Kelkel, I love the target $1 bins, they are the value of the dollar store with the added bonus of the cuter target style and quality 🙂

  2. Andrea Says:

    You know I’m not much of a crafter, but I’m still waiting for just the right occasion to send that card I made with Penny… 🙂


Leave a Reply

