Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Car Shopping May 18, 2011

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 10:16 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It turns out that Kelly is not the only person making a purchasing decision in the next few days. About two weeks ago, I was in a car accident. I’m totally fine, rockin’ a sweet bruise on my knee, but my poor little car was deemed “totaled”.

Here is what the car is supposed to look like:

Before

And this is what the car looked like after the accident:

After

So as you can see, it’s time to get a new car.

Working with my insurance I’ll receive a “pay-out”, equaling the blue book value of the car that will be put towards my down payment. Luckily, I do have some additional savings I can put towards another new car that I was saving for something else…but that purchase will just have to wait another year.

I know you’re wondering, what car is Karla going to get?

When I was looking to buy my first car two years ago the choices were:

  • Toyota Yaris (which I purchased)
  • Nissan Rogue
  • Scion 😄
  • Mini Cooper

Today’s choices are:

  • Ford Escape
  • Nissan Rogue
  • Honda CRV
  • Mini Cooper

All crossover SUVs minus the Mini…an interesting combo, I know. This week I test-drove the Ford Escape and Nissan Rogue. I was impressed with both cars. Each had features – touch screens, keyless entry…that I liked as well as aspects that I didn’t like…like blind sots.

And then there is the Mini…I’ll forever blame the movie The Italian Job for my love of Minis. But seriously, when I test drove a Mini two years ago, I instantly fell in love with the car. As soon as I got into the drivers seat I was smiling. Guess I’ll have to do another test drive to see if the effect is still there!

I’ll keep the Uncharted readers posted on the rest of my test drives, but it looks like I better get started on my pro/con excel spreadsheet!

 

Leave a Reply

