Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Hiring My First Employee June 6, 2011

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 8:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

This week marks an exciting time in my career as an entrepreneur. My first employee began work today. I would be lying if I didn’t already know and trust her, but I am excited and nervous and happy all the same.

Hiring has been an interesting process for me – as I made the realization that I needed help only recently. I’m already a one-woman-show doing all aspects of my shoe business work (other than financials, which my father has graciously taken over and the post-office runs for shipping, which my mother thankfully does without complaint). But I needed something else. More than logistics and back-end work. I needed someone to market me. An unbiased perspective that could report on shoes and fashion and Kate Dabkey Shoes.

The best part about my new hire is that she has flexibility in her hours, when during the day she works and what works best for her. She is pretty much full reign, provided she gets her objectives completed on time. This method to “managing my team” was an awesome day provided by Gary Vaynerchuk, who wrote, “The Thank You Economy.” I loved his thoughtful advice, his superb examples and his crazy methodology. It works. When employees are happy, they work better and they work smarter.

Now if only this type of work environment was available to everyone! 🙂

Welcome to the company, Kristie!

 

Leave a Reply

