Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Potatoes and Pie June 21, 2011

This past week was full of cooking for me.  First my sister and I attended a cooking class at Hinsdale’s Second Floor {a lovely store above the town’s hardware store}.  It was a beautiful kitchen and we learned how to take ‘Chicken from Drab to Fab.’  We had an awesome chef named Paul {and awesome assistant Caesar} who taught us all we would need to know and I even got to help out a bit!

I mentioned that a potato salad recipe by Smitten Kitchen inspired me to take a trip to the Farmer’s market last week and finally got around to making it for myself this weekend.  The best part about this recipe is you don’t have to make it all at once.  Since there are quite a few steps I split it up a bit.  I made the potatoes first, set them aside to cool and then pickled the green onions.

I took a break and went out with some friends to a concert in the nearby park and enjoyed some pie in a jar!  {Holy Cow So Good!}

I had seen something like it on the Unique Sweets show on the Food Network and that’s where this friend of mine got his idea.  And in case you were wondering the crust recipe is Martha.  After the concert I came home and cooked the asparagus and green beans {I used these instead of snap peas} and then gave them a nice ice bath.

I combined the vegetables, covered them and put them in the fridge along with the pickling green onions.  Last but not least I whisked the dressing together and also threw that in the fridge.  Yesterday Dave came over and combined them all together for the final product:

Oh and here is an update on my basil plants:

Note to self- Don’t leave the tray in the self made greenhouse {Ziplock bag} for too long or mold WILL grow!  I think they are doing okay despite that little hiccup and I can’t wait to use it in a dish!

 

One Response to “Potatoes and Pie”

  1. Penny Says:

    Kelly,

    How Fun!!! Give me a call if you are going to sign up again. Or send me more info. Hope to see you over the weekend. Heard you might be beefing up your muscles to help Karla with her dresser pick-up!?!?


Leave a Reply

