Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Pure MI, Old & New things, and Back to Evens! June 28, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This past weekend I was in {Pure} Michigan.  It is my favorite place on Earth thanks to yearly trips to Torch Lake when I was young.  I’m so nostalgic about that place that I tear up when a Pure Michigan ad comes on the radio.  And its crazy to think that Tim Allen could cause that much emotion in me.  Anyways,  I wasn’t at Torch, but still in MI and it was my BIRTHDAY!  I love birthdays {especially the even ones}!  It’s a great time to feel loved.

Anyhow because I was in MI relaxing I didn’t really do that much other than read and hang out with my family.  I thought I’d take a chance to show you some fun stuff:

One of my aspirations this year was to ‘Hunt for treasures in antique & Thrift stores’ {#3}.  Well I found this little beauty when I was doing just that!  I was early meeting friends for dinner {aspiration #2 anyone?!} and stopped at an antique store nearby.  I love antique things but never buy anything.  I decided it would help me to have a goal when I’m looking around.  I love the idea of mismatched dishes but don’t want to commit to full dish sets so I came up with the idea of mismatched teacups!  I know it’s a bit impractical and I’m not sure when I’ll ever set out teacups for company, but I’m excited about it so don’t ruin my fun!   I am set on the fact that I want English made china so it limits me a bit, but I like a challenge.  Who knows, maybe I’ll change my mind about that little guideline!  Are there any antique items you are on the hunt for?

Okay this isn’t from an antique/thrift store at all.  On my birthday it was a bit rainy so we left the house, went to South Haven and shopped a bit.  I found this lovely lantern in a furniture shop and was sure it would be way overpriced.  I was so delighted at the $20 price tag I snatched it up right away.  I’m unsure where it’s going to stay in the apartment, but I’m sure I’ll find a good spot soon.

Lastly, but certainly not least I have to show you one of my favorite birthday gifts from my dad and sister.  I’ve been wanting one of these for a long time, but never wanted to shell out.  Now I don’t have to 😉

Martha Stewart Cast Iron Dutch Oven

My face looks crazy in the photo my dad took of me opening this.  I am just so excited to cook something in it!  I’m sure I will find a recipe to test out in it soon and when I do I’ll be sure to post about it.  Anyone have any new purchases they are excited about?

 

2 Responses to “Pure MI, Old & New things, and Back to Evens!”

  1. Lei Curtis Says:

    I LOVE your mix match tea cup idea Kel…and you surely found beauty there!!! It is so happy and yellow!!! 🙂

  2. […] did this!  I found a few treasures and a really awesome local antique mall I never knew was there […]


Leave a Reply

