Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

A Little Love in the Kitchen June 30, 2011

First off, I apologize for not posting for the past 2 weeks {in case anybody missed me}.  You see, I was in the midst of my move to Denver, and there were a few hiccups along the way.  In any case, I’m here, getting settled in, and trying to make this new place my home.

Before I left for Denver, I knew I wanted to do something for the 4 ladies I had had countless dinner parties and ‘supper clubs’ with to show my love and appreciation to them.  So I decided to create a recipe box for each of them!  We had talked about printing out our shared successes, and turning them into a binder of some sort, but no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t get the binder to look as classy as I wanted it to.

I started with a simple cooking-word-adorned recipe box from the Martha Stewart line at Michaels craft store.  I then used various die-cutting and paper crafting supplies from my collection of Stampin’ Up stuff to adorn the outside of the recipe box with flowers, punches, and each girl’s initials so we can keep the boxes straight when together.

The inside was the real project.  I went through the folder in my file box, the random papers I had in my trunk, the drawer of random papers in my desk, and finally collected what I considered to be a good representation of the recipes we had cooked together or for one another in the last few years.  I formatted a Microsoft Word document to be the right size to fit inside the recipe box, and embarked on my journey to create about 30 recipe cards falling into the categories of: appetizers, soups and salads, entrees, side dishes, desserts, and drinks and sauces.  I printed them all on different color cardstock, trimmed them appropriately, and put them in each box.

Probably my favorite element of this project was personalizing the boxes.  At the beginning of the box before the recipe cards begin, I wrote a note to the girls, included a lovable cooking quote, and made a ‘recipe card’ with pictures on it of those of us who took part in this project over the past few years.  I can’t wait to get new recipes from the girls {because they promised they’d keep me in the loop, even though now I’m in Denver!} and add them to our boxes.

 

One Response to “A Little Love in the Kitchen”

  1. Penny Says:

    Sarah,
    They are awesome! Glad you have some time on your hands to be creative! When you have time I want to hear all about Denver.


Leave a Reply

