Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Some Southern Love Y’all July 13, 2011

As long as I can remember I’ve had a fascination with being Southern.  Okay I realize that makes me sound slightly strange, and I wouldn’t give up my Chicago Status for anything.  But I just love the accent, the laid back nature, and the tradionalness {yeah I don’t think that’s a word either} of Southerners. Um also they get to say ‘Y’all’ and it’s normal.

The only places I’ve been in the South are Florida and  gold ole’ N’Auwlins, Louisiana.  No wait!  I’ve also been to South Carolina, Tennessee, Arizona, and Indiana.  That’s right I said Indiana.  I once heard that it was the most Southern Northern state and I happen to agree with that sentiment.  A couple more states than I thought, but I feel like I won’t be complete until I visit Texas and Georgia.  No offense to the other states, I just feel like those are the most Southerny Southern States.

Recently I finished reading Chile Death: A China Bayles Mystery by Susan Wittig Albert.  I got the recommendation out of Real Simple’s No Obligation Book Club section.  They were asking readers what their favorite series of books was and Rosemary said she liked this series for the mysteries and  the main character, China Bayles, who has a spice store and always shares ‘tips on growing herbs and cooking’.  This sounded right up my alley so I headed to the library to check a couple of Susan’s books out.  The first one I read is Chile Death that you see pictured here and it made me want to make chili in the middle of a 92 degree day.  Although the setting was a fake town{Pecan Springs}, it was a fake town in TEXAS.  How much more Southern can you get than Texas?  Reading about the small fake town made me nostalgic for small town Southern life.  Not sure how I could be nostalgic about something I’ve never had, but hey a girl can dream can’t she?

At the end of the day I will still be loyal to Chicago, but I must admit I still plan on visiting Texas and Georgia one day and enjoying Southern Hospitality and the more important thing of all:  Southern Cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

