Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

The End of HP…or is it? July 19, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Just got home from the last Harry Potter movie.  I am emotionally drained!  I know that sounds dramatic, but while it’s the end of the era for Harry, Ron, and Hermione, it is also the end of an era for me.  Can anyone believe that it’s been 10 years since the first movie?  How about 14 years since the first book!?  Crazy right?

I actually have been ignoring all the hype around it because I didn’t want to face the fact that it was the last movie.  It was the last piece left in the puzzle.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am actually a bigger fan of J.K. Rowling’s books rather than the movies.  In fact it’s been 4 years {this month} since I devoured the last book all in one day.  But since the movie was the only thing left I really felt like it needed to be cherished.

It all started for me when my dad gifted my sister the first three books the Christmas of 2000{I’m pretty sure?}  He heard from someone that they were supposed to be good.  Lucky for me he heard right.  I read all of them and then waited with the rest of the world while books Four, Five, Six, and Seven came out.  In the time that I started reading these books I went on my first date {actually the first HP movie was one of our first dates}, graduated from high school, held my first office job, lived in England, traveled Europe, met Dave, graduated from college, started my first HR job, and moved out of my dad’s house.

I could never get enough of those books.  Heck, I’ve read each one a handful of times.  All of them came out in June or July and since I worked in downtown Chicago every summer during college, I would read them at home, on the train and bus to work, in the lunchroom at work, and at the front desk when I covered for the usual girl’s lunch break.  People would give me weird looks on the train and bus and {SPOILER ALERT} when Dumbledore died and I could barely breathe I was crying so hard, the broker who was looking for his assistant quickly ran out of the lunch room to get as far away from me as possible.

I am very sad that the journey is finally complete.  But I realized tonight after the movie that although I may have finished the story of Harry Potter, one day I will be able to share the story with my children and hope that they will love it as much as I did.

 

Leave a Reply

