Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Oh The Way the World Turns July 25, 2011

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 9:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

You know when you haven’t spoken to an old friend in a long time and they have so much to tell you? That’s how I feel right now!

(1) I crossed an important item off of my bucket list… I rode a mechanical bull. I have a video to prove it and I wish I could share it but I can’t find my cable that connects the camera to the computer. Let’s just say… it was amazing. Exhilirating, exciting… surprisingly difficult… but amazing. Let’s just say, I’m doing well at my bucket list.

(2) I was promoted.  More exciting… so was my bf Eric. We’re both enjoying our new promotions, within weeks apart and of course enjoying the celebratory dinners and bottles of champagnes that we use to congratulate each other. I know, it’s a little lame, but still exciting.

(3) I read Devil in the White City. Have you ever read this book? If you are from Chicago, I insist you read this. I am often ridiculed for my love of non-fiction and finally I have a book to recommend to everyone I know, no matter your reading preference! This book is half about Daniel Burnham and his building “The White City” during the World’s Fair in 1893 and half about Dr. H. H. Holmes, one of the first serial killers ever documented in history (he preyed on pretty blondes in Chicago starting a new life… eek!). I learned so many things about Chicago in reading this book – for example, did you know that the dude who painted the white city, Frank Millet, also died on the Titanic? He also invented spray paint. Guess what else was invented at the World’s Fair of 1893? Shredded Wheat.

(4) Lastly, and not leastly, I saw the movie Bad Teacher. Oh Dear God…. was it hilarious. Cameron Diaz at her best… and oh those poor children. I laughed so hard I cried.

Let me know if you have any book/movie/restaurant recommendations. I’m looking for some good ones!

Kate

 

Leave a Reply

