Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Making Blueberry Pancakes July 26, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

Karla and I went to the Farmer’s Market this weekend.  If you haven’t noticed, this has become a norm for me now.  The truth is I’m having a hard time buying produce from the grocery store now that I know what I know {read about my new found food influences here} and I can’t even try to compare a tomato from a local farm to one from Dominick’s or Jewel(s). That ‘S’ is for my Nana.  She always says Jewel, Jewels.  Anyhow, back to the original story:

We came back from the market with some blueberries, green beans, and of course tomatoes.  Once we got back to the apartment, I really wanted to use the blueberries.  Right away!  Both of us had already eaten somewhat of a breakfast, but once Blueberry Pancakes popped into my mind I couldn’t resist.  Even when Karla said she’d pass I still decided I wanted them that bad.

The perfectionist in me thought about looking up a recipe so that I could make the pancakes from scratch, but in the end I decided I would probably give up if I took the time to look through recipes.  So I grabbed the Bisquick box and got to work cutting their recommendations in half.  I wanted to cut it into a ¼, but I ask you, how do you use ½ an egg?  I don’t know either.

As I was mixing it all up I had a little jolt of nostalgia and I just had to share it.  When I was young {and even to this day} my dad’s side of the family went up to Michigan to hang out together for a long weekend.  I remember waking up in the morning and going upstairs to find my mom in the kitchen making Blueberry Pancakes.  This was such a treat because not only was she making pancakes for us, but her and my Papa went to pick the blueberries fresh that morning!  Even though I didn’t care for blueberries that much as a 10 year old, I appreciated the specialness of that gesture.  It is a really fond memory for me and just by making the pancakes myself, I felt connected to my mom.  She passed away when I was 13 years old and I think about her one way or another every day.  It’s a little harder for me to feel connected with so much time and distance between us, but little memories like this are what keeps her in my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

