Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Pinterest Paralysis August 2, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:21 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay who has heard of Pinterest?  If you haven’t, you’re missing out!

What is it you ask?

For me it’s a place to store my inspiration in compartments of my choosing.   While at the same time sharing and adoring the most creative, uplifting, interesting pictures that I could ever imagine!  Can you tell I love this website?  Here is Pinterest’s description of what their website is.

How do you get there?

{Click the Logo}

For as long as I can remember I have created file folders on my computer filled with pictures I’ve collected from the internet.  Pictures of projects and inspirations that I have saved into Word documents and filed into specific categories so that I wouldn’t lose sight of them.  Now that I have Pinterest there is no need for those anymore.

Yippee!

Besides eliminating the need for file folders and Word docs all over my computer, Pinterest offers me so much more. Inspiration.  I just searched ‘organization’ and 8,451 pins popped up.  I added the word craft in front {craft organization} and 30,344 pins popped up!

The only downside I see is how much time I spend perusing photos and trying to pin the perfect ones.  Here is where my paralysis comes in.  I’m very good at thinking about what I don’t want:

  • Same photos as my followers/friends
  • Photos that have been repinned {copying a photo from another board to your own} a ton
  • Projects I can never hope to create
  • Photos that aren’t really ‘me’

Because of the things I don’t want I find it difficult to find photos to add to my boards.  I feel like my boards and pins reflect on who I am.   And the perfection part of me is causing me to pin hardly anything at all!  Not sure there is really an answer to this predicament.  Just wanted to share a fun new tool with you and vent about my struggles.

 

One Response to “Pinterest Paralysis”

  1. Katie Rose Says:

    One thing I totally hate is when my followers pin something of mine but don’t repin it from me (does that make sense?). Either they don’t realize I have previously pinned it or don’t want to repin. Weird, totally crazy gripe that something only Pinterest users can understand.

    Also, is it weird that I am afraid to pin certain things because I don’t want my followers to steal or see it? Especially if I see somehting on there I want to buy or make for one of my friends (who may also be a follower) I avoid pinning it which is the exact opposite point of the website!


Leave a Reply

