Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Top of the Muffin to You! August 16, 2011

Today I realized that lately I’ve been putting a lot of mileage on my muffin tins.  I never really gave much thought to muffin tins before, but they can be used for a lot more than just making muffins {and cupcakes}!  The little spots are just so perfect for so many things.  Remember this post about mini cheesecakes made in muffin tins?  These were a hit because it was the perfect serving of cheesecake without feeling guilty.  Not to mention they are easy to eat at a party because you don’t really need a fork.

Then two weeks ago it was my sister’s birthday and we had a lovely brunch to celebrate.  I asked her what she wanted and she excitedly mentioned egg sandwiches.  I decided to do some research online and I came upon this recipe on Macheesmo’s blog.  Nick did an awesome job convincing me why I should never buy an Egg McMuffin from McDonalds again.  All he had to tell me was that there are 55 ingredients in the McDonald’s version and I was sold on the home version.  This is a super simple recipe and everyone we served it to thought it was so creative and delicious.  Here are the eggs all baked and ready to be made into a sandwich:

The only thing I would have changed is the sausage.  It was not wide enough to take up the whole sandwich.  Next time I think I’ll try something besides frozen patties!

Finally, this week I had lovely ladies over for dinner and I was very anxious to try out this recipe by Lauren at Lauren’s Latest.  I’ve had it saved in my favorites under recipe’s for awhile now.  I just didn’t have anyone to try it out on…until now!  The only changes I made was to leave meat out {a few guest do not eat meat}, use whole wheat pasta instead of white, and I used cupcake holders instead of parchment paper {I didn’t have any parchment paper and someone suggested it on the comments}.  Here is what my final result looks like:

I thought these were adorable and loved the new twist on an old favorite.  The edges were a bit hard which I didn’t like, but I think that can be solved by assembling these and baking them right away.  I actually premade these the night before the dinner {I gotta work during the day people!} and baked them right before everyone came.  I’m curious to see what the difference will be.  Do you have any favorite non muffin recipes?  I’d love to hear about them so I can try them out!

 

2 Responses to “Top of the Muffin to You!”

  1. Tom Ludwig Says:

    you should make meatloaf in the tin and then frost with mash potatoes

  2. Katie Rose Says:

    Shame you didn’t get a picture of the assembled homemade egg sandwiches. 😦


Leave a Reply

