Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Jumping out of my comfort zone… September 1, 2011

…in terms of crafting and art, which you all know is hard for me since I have tried just about all types of crafts there are to get ones feet wet in.  But this past weekend I tried my hand at painting.  That’s right, not just painting solid colors or polka dots on all types of surfaces, but REAL painting…on canvas like my dear friend, Lei.

My friend Krista invited me to an event in Denver called Canvas and Cocktails.  You get to drink wine and paint a picture that they guide you through step by step.  I was in once the wine half was mentioned.  When we got there, a wide range of people were in attendance: from young to old, females and males (though I will say, the amount of straight males in the room was probably lacking haha).  Then I saw our picture.  It was a picture of Red Rocks amphitheater in Morrison, Colorado.  Jonathan and I went to a concert there a few weeks ago, and I will tell you from firsthand experience that the place is absolutely breathtaking.  I was thinking to myself that there was absolutely positutely NO way I was going to be able to paint it.

Out instructor got up on this little podium stage and started giving us some direction about where to start.  She put on some dancy music, we enjoyed our wine, and started painting!  I had a few glitches along the way, but usually I found there’s a way to fix them (one thing I enjoyed discovering, since this is why I was always afraid to try real painting, for fear that I’d mess it up, have wasted a nice canvas, a bunch of pricey paint, and hours of valuable time only to have to start over!).  Before I knew it, 2 and a half hours had passed and I had a painting of Red Rocks staring me straight in the face.  And actually for someone who’s never painted before, I think it turned out pretty good (or at least, sort of looks like the original example). 

The moral of the story is: don’t be afraid to push your limits and go outside your comfort zone.  You may end up with a really beautiful product (plus a tipsy spirit and some new friends, in my case).  

Krista and I with our finished products

 

3 Responses to “Jumping out of my comfort zone…”

  1. deshipley Says:

    Good on you! The painting looks absolutely lovely.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    What?! That is amazing! I don’t believe you’re not a painter!

  3. […] friend Andrea received Living Social for her birthday to attend Vino van Gogh. Sarah did a similar activity a few months ago in Denver. Vino van Gogh was just slightly different. The […]


Leave a Reply

