Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

#52 September 20, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is my 52nd post!  I just had to announce that because when we started this blog last September {Uncharted turns 1 this month!} I told myself that I would at least stick with it for a full year.  I am a self proclaimed procrastinator and although a couple of my posts were posted a bit after midnight, in my book I still managed to do one post every Tuesday for a year {a year people!}.  It’s okay if you’re not impressed…I am and that’s what counts.

~On to other goings on~

I was at my cousin’s house this weekend and she and my sister decided I should read The Hunger Games.  I knew the premise of the story but I have to be honest I didn’t think I’d like it.  It was purely peer pressure that made me start reading it.  And now that I am 75% {thanks Kindle} through the book I am hooked and I can’t stop.  It makes my adrenaline rush and I love it and hate it at the same time.  By the way the Kindle is my sister’s and my cousin was able to lend her Kindle the book.  The fact that you can do this has really impressed me and has made me consider placing a Kindle on my Christmas list.

In other news the transmission in my car has been ‘Condemned’.  I am not kidding.  That’s the exact phrase the car guy used when he told me it needed to be replaced.  Two weeks ago my car was fine and then it randomly started making a funky noise.  I took it to a shop and they said it was the transmission.  Now let me tell you I don’t know much about cars, but one thing I do know is that in the car world transmission is a dirty and expensive word.  Luckily I am still under warranty for big items {power train or something} <—–Who comes up with these phrases?  I am even luckier because Nissan is not only replacing my Condemned transmission, but they are paying for my car rental too.  Woo Hoo!

Tonight started the new season of ‘Glee’.  I was very excited to get back the euphoric feeling I usually have during a Glee episode.  Unfortunately I was let down.  I don’t know why.  Perhaps just a slow start, but I didn’t feel overjoyed one time and that is a first.  After Glee was a new show called ‘New Girl’ staring Zooey Deschanel.  A girl breaks up with her cheating boyfriend {Zooey} and needs a new place to stay so she moves in with 3 guys who are all roommates.  So far so good.  I laughed quite a bit so I think it’s going to be a keeper.  I mean as long as I am sitting down to watch Glee I might as well watch for another 30 minutes.  I know there are a thousand other new TV shows but I hate getting latched on to too many things/ I don’t have DVR or TiVo.  So you’ll have to talk to my sister who had to actually make a  schedule of shows she wants to follow.

Fall Foilage

Can I just also say that I am so excited it is becoming fall?  It’s my favorite season if I haven’t already mentioned that and it just makes me so happy.  This weekend Dave and I went to a friends wedding up in Lake Geneva and it was beautiful.  Both the setting and actual wedding. I just can’t wait for the leaves to turn!

Now I’m sorry to say I really can’t write any longer because I need to finish The Hunger Games.  Goodnight!

 

One Response to “#52”

  1. Katie Rose Says:

    I loved “New Girl” too! Who can resist Zooey Deschanel? I’d like to think we would be good friends if we ever met.

    May I also suggest “Up All Night” (NBC, Wednesdays @ 7) with Will Arnett & Christina Applegate? It is only 30 minutes long which we all know goes by in a snap in TV land, and is funny (probably especially for young couples and new parents).


Leave a Reply

