Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Pumpkin Pie {filling} from Scratch October 18, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 8:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

Don't be Scared!

2 weeks ago I showed you all my pie pumpkins and promised I would make them into a pumpkin pie from scratch.  I must admit I was intimidated, but after reading up on a couple blogs about how to go about this I had absolutely no problems!  First thing you must do is cut the pumpkin open and clean it out.

1.

*Remember to separate the seeds and keep them if you are going to eat them later!

2. 

I then set the oven to 400 degrees and placed the pumpkin pieces face down on a jelly roll pan.  When they roast it gets a little juicy so you want to have something with edges that can prevent spillage.  I left them in there for about 40 minutes. *Don’t mind our ugly oven.  Karla and I were this close to getting a brand new one, but the landlord accidently ordered an electric instead of a gas and now we are stuck with this old one.

3.

It depends on your oven, but you’ll know the pumpkin is ready by using a fork to puncture it and see if it is soft.  The other clue is you’ll be able to lift/peel the pumpkin skin right off!  I didn’t think it would be so easy, but it was a breeze.

4.

Skin coming right off

You can now cut up the meat of the pumpkin and place it in a food processor.  I roasted two pumpkins and was able to fit one pumpkin at a time in our food processor.  I pulsed the processor for about a minute and then wala! I had pure pumpkin ready to use in my pumpkin pie.

5.

6.

2 pie pumpkins = 4 cups

 I used a traditional pumpkin pie recipe and it called for 3 cups of pumpkin.  That means I had 1 cup left over which I wrapped up and put in the freezer for a future baking project.  I cheated a little bit and used a pie crust from the store {a la Sandra Lee style}.  But I remember that my sister told me to use foil around the edges of the pie so as not to burn the crust while it is baking.  See:

Foil Wrapped Crust

Don’t mind the smiley face.  Those are the knife marks from when I was checking to see if the pie was finished baking!  Here is how the crust turns out underneath the foil:

The pie tasted very good and I was proud that I made it {mostly} from scratch.  Just shows me that sometimes I make things out to be a lot harder than they actually are.  What else could I accomplish if I had the confidence?

 

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie {filling} from Scratch”

  1. Jill Says:

    I’ve heard (and do) that it helps to strain the pumpkin as well before you use it, and those new strainers I got Karla are perfect for the job 🙂 I’ve never actually eaten my pumpkin pie, but my family does love it!

    • Uncharted Says:

      I did read about straining the pumpkin too, but when I was done with the food processor, the pumpkin didn’t seem watery at all. I think it depends on the pumpkin you use. Good to know we’ve got the tools in case I need them!


Leave a Reply

