Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Thanksgiving Came Early November 22, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:18 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Thanksgiving came a bit early for my family this year and we celebrated this past Sunday.  For someone so obsessed with tradition it actually didn’t bother be to change it up.  In fact it ends up working quite well because now I will get to see the other side of my family on real Thanksgiving.  The more the merrier!  And did I mention I now have an excuse to be a piggy twice in one week?

Yeah I’m not complaining.  So for Thanksgiving Part I, my sister and I were in charge of desserts.  My cousin who organized everything asked us to ‘think outside the box.’  We went back and forth on Gchat with tons of different ideas, but one thing was for sure, we had to make a trifle {my sister was very excited to use her brand new trifle dish my cousin got her for her birthday}!  If you don’t know what a trifle is I will show you:

Gingerbread Pumpkin Trifle

Basically it’s a layered dessert that usually includes cake, whipped cream, and some sort of pudding.  This one was a gingerbread cake, pumpkin vanilla pudding, and whipped cream.  We pretty much made everything from a box, but we used real pumpkin. Doesn’t it look pretty?  We also decided to make apple donuts.  Mostly because my sister wanted to use her donut pan {does anyone else see a pattern here?}, but also because apples are in season and not something you’d traditionally think of at a Thanksgiving feast {remember we were thinking outside the box}.  She was worried when the dough was cookie dough texture instead of liquidy, but in the end they turned out very well and got even better once we brushed them with butter and dipped them in cinnamon sugar.  Sorry I don’t have a finished product picture, but here is the batter in the cute donut pan ready for the oven:

Apple Donuts

Lastly, but certainly not least we decided we need a dessert involving chocolate.  I decided some type of bar would be easy to make.  I found this recipe for chocolate peanut butter crunch bars on Smitten Kitchen’s website and the search was quickly over.

Side Note- For some reason any recipe that requires a candy thermometer intimidates me and also knowing that neither my sister or me owns one we quickly made an alteration to the recipe.  We ignored her instructions for the rice crispy bottom and using another a simpler rice crispy recipe by Smitten Kitchen.

This was my most favorite recipe to make and my sister pointed out that it was the only one that required no actual baking.  Haha, my true feelings are revealed!  Anyway we forgot to take a final picture, but here are all the ingredients we used and you can look at Smitten Kitchen’s website…ours looked very similar.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Crispy Bars

I was worried I’d hear complaints about the missing pumpkin pie, but I didn’t hear a peep.  In fact I think people were too busy enjoying their desserts.  I think we succeeded at thinking outside the box, don’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

