Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

The Swap II November 29, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 8:51 am
Tags: , , ,

This past weekend Karla and I held the 2nd annual Clothing Swap at our apartment!  If you don’t know what a clothing swap is, don’t worry it’s not something you hear about every day.  I’ll explain:  everyone brings their gently worn clothes, shoes, accessories and swaps them with the group.  Then all the unspoken for items are donated to a local woman’s shelter.  We also ask for a donation and give the proceeds to the shelter for others needs they might have.  Last year was a huge success, especially being the first time we did it, and this year was an even bigger success!  We had more people in attendance, made more money to donate, and have way more clothes and accessories to give away:

It’s true that I got some cute items from this event, but honestly the best part of it is sharing time with my friends and the thought that someone else can benefit from the items crowding up our closets.  I have too much stuff.  It’s a fact.  I don’t need all that I have.  It feels good to share all that I have with others. To give someone a boost of confidence when they need it most.  What sort of things do you do around the holidays for others?  I’ve always wanted to volunteer at a soup kitchen and never done it before.  Perhaps this will be my year!

All Packed Up and Ready to Go

If you want to set up your own Swap or find one in your area, check out this website:

http://swapforgood.org/host/how-to-host-a-swap/

 

2 Responses to “The Swap II”

  1. Kayla Says:

    The Swap was so fun and successful that it inspired me to do the same! I’m hosting a Christmas Swap and asking everyone to bring donations which will go to my Relay for Life team this year! Thanks for letting me steal your awesome idea 🙂

  2. […] school painting in February, Relay for Life in April, MS Walk in May, Adopted a Kitty in August, Swap and Shoe Drive in November, Operation Blessing Food Drive in […]


Leave a Reply

