Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Christmas Craft December 20, 2011

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know Christmastime is busy, but I never remember feeling this behind!  I’m wondering if it has something to do with Christmas Eve being on Saturday and having work on Friday.  It’s a bit quick right?  Usually there’s a buffer day.  It feels like I have no time left.  I have been shopping and running errands every night this week after work.  I am so close to being done and it kills me that I’m not.  My spreadsheet I created to help me is now taunting me!  It will all get done I’m sure.  In the meantime, on to my craft!  Not really mine per say…I found the idea on Pinterest {here is the original blog post from Sew Many Ways} and decided to give it a go.  Here is my finished project:

Here are the items you’ll need:

Metal Coffee can {or another cylindrical container}
Sandpaper
Safety Mask and Goggles
Red Spray Paint
Scissors
Black Belt {or black fabric}
Screw driver
Hot Glue Gun 
Greenery
Wire Cutters

It’s a very simple project that looks absolutely adorable for Christmas!  That is what attracted me to it.  So first thing I did was put on my mask and goggles {I am on the safety committee at work, don’t judge me!} and then took the can outside and sanded it down a bit.  Before the container is spray painted it needs to have a rough surface to make sure the paint doesn’t wipe right off.  Once the can was rough enough I wiped the can off to remove any residue from the sanding.  I then put my handy mask back on and headed outside again to do some spray painting!

Isn’t that little spray paint cute?  Michael’s sells them for small projects, which was perfect because I’m not sure how often I’ll be using red spray paint.  Anyhow I did two coats on this can, but you can do more if you are more patient than me.  I let the can dry for a few days and then took my old belt and wrapped it around the can.  I noted where I needed a new belt hole and then used the screwdriver to poke a new hole.  Honestly I’m not sure if this is really the best way to go about it.  There might be a tool for this, but I didn’t have it and I wanted to actually finish this project.  It wasn’t too hard for me and I made sure my body was never in danger of being stabbed by the screwdriver.  Once I had my new hole, I put the belt around the can and decided where I needed to cut the excess off.  I used my scissors to cut a nice shape to the end of the belt and proceeded to hot glue the whole thing to the can.

After that I found some pretty greenery that was very on sale at Michaels and cut it so that it arranged nicely in the can.  That’s it!  How simple is that?

 

One Response to “Christmas Craft”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Especially love #s 1,5,8 and 19, although I have to disagree – I think walking up multiple flights of stairs DEFINITELY counts as exercise. But that is probably what I tell myself since that’s about the only form of exercise I get these days 🙂


Leave a Reply

