Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

All things Green March 20, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Karla and I are  planning a baby shower for this Sunday.  We have lots of projects to do and a couple that are already complete!  We can’t show you them yet because I don’t want to spoil the surprise for the guests and the guest of honor.  I promise you can expect to hear all about it next week.

On a separate note I have had green things on the mind lately.  I don’t know if it’s this crazy warm weather we are having {today was The Warmest First Day of Spring EVER in Chicago}, or if I’m trying to keep my mind off of sweet things.  I gave up sweets for Lent and it’s all I can do not to think about them.  I know Lent has been going on for almost a month now {Thursday marks the official one month}, but I still think about sweets all the time.  I have to admit I am doing fairly well.  The only slip up I had was licking icing off a candle out of my Nana’s birthday cake.  As soon as I did it I realized I wasn’t supposed to! I felt guilty, but it was an accident after all.

I don’t have any land to garden on, but I was perusing Pinterest to see about some alternatives and here are some fun things I found:

Repurposed shoe organizer planters

Garden in a Pallet by Life on the Balcony

Bucket Garden by Row House Nest

I think if I do plant an alternative garden it will be filled with herbs or possibly some fruits.  No need for vegetables because this year we joined a CSA called Grass is Greener Gardens!  We will be getting all of our vegetables and even our eggs from them every week for 21 weeks.  I put together a spreadsheet and in the end it came down to location of the pickup spot and the cost.  We are really lucky and live in an area that many CSAs have a drop off in.  However, most of them say if there are enough new customers in an area and someone willing to be a host they will set up a pickup there.  I can’t wait to share our experience with all of you throughout the summer.

 

One Response to “All things Green”

  1. […] getting really excited because our CSA is starting next week.  I’ve already been thinking about all the new dishes I can make.  I’m […]


Leave a Reply

