Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Toes Above the Nose April 10, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:48 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Gotta make this snappy.  Today was a busy bee day and I’m exhausted.

I finally read Room by Emma Donoghue.  I had two recommendations {Thanks Sarah and Sissy} and although it sounded downright creepy to me, I ended up reading the whole thing in 3 days.  What everyone says is true.  It is very addictive and somewhat dark of a subject.  I ended up being pretty happy with it overall though.  Lots of surprises and my sister and I agreed that it is interesting to try and decipher the world from a 5 year old’s point of view.  I’m happy I’ve met my goal of 1 book read in April already, but the problem is I never finished March’s book.  Game of Thrones.  Dang Game of Thrones.  I’m having trouble sticking with it.  Started reading it, felt I was making headway, then I look at the percentage read on my Kindle and it only says 54%.  It makes me angry to start and not finish a book so I will  I just needed a little break.  Just not sure I will read the whole series.

It’s actually good to have a couple things on my reading list because very soon I will have a lot of time on my hands to sit with my toes above my nose.  Yep!  That is what my foot doctor told me to expect.  In a little over a week I’m finally having a foot surgery done I’ve needed for a long time.  There never seems to be a good time to stop my life and get it done, but is there really ever a good time to take care of yourself?  Which reminds me.  This whole foot surgery thing has really helped motivate me to work out a bit more.  As soon as you tell me I might not be able to work out for a few weeks it suddenly dawns on me that I should take advantage of being able to work out and have started to up the frequency.  Why does my mind work that way?  Very unfair.  My other motivator is a quote I saw on Pinterest {not sure where it orginally came from…sorry!}, but the quote was this:

It’s true right?  If I planned on working out and I start talking myself out of it for whatever reason, I think of this quote and I end up doing the workout.  Love that!
 

One Response to “Toes Above the Nose”

  1. Borchardt Consulting Says:

    I think that it’s good time management to recognize that a book is just not what you want right now and you abandon it. It took me a long time to realize that my time was valuable and that it’s ok to not finish a book. Think of it like tasting a new food and discovering you don’t like it. You tried it – good for you. But you don’t have to clean your whole plate. Wonderfully liberating!


Leave a Reply

