Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Going under the knife April 17, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

Getting ready {stressing out at work, and running 6 bazillion errands} before my upcoming bunion surgery has taken a lot out of me so I don’t have much time to talk tonight.  To be honest I prefer my sleep over writing tonight.   I’m thinking that since I will be sitting around from Thursday on that maybe I’ll write an in depth post about the surgery experience later this week.  My recovery consists of me sitting around so I’m sure I’ll have some time on my hands.  Hopefully that will make up for my dismal post today 🙂

I’ve been researching my butt off for useful pointers about foot surgeries, how to prepare, and how to recover.  Most items are common sense, like make sure you have someone to drive you to and from the surgery because you’ll be drugged up.  Thanks…never would have thought of that!  But there were some items I would not have thought of that I was grateful for reading ahead of time.  A big one was to move rugs out of the way before you come home.  They seem harmless, but when you have a cast on your foot, they become a huge hazard.  The other item I learned about was a knee walker.  Looks like this:

Handy Dandy Knee Walker

Looks like something kids would play on, right?  I called around and figured out that you need a doctor’s prescription for one so I called my foot doctor and he said my insurance would cover one and he would definitely write a script as I am supposed to put NO WEIGHT on my foot for 3 weeks.  Yikes!  I’ll try to have someone snap a photo of me using it.  It’s sure to be entertaining.  Hey at least I won’t have sore underarms or break something else from trying to use crutches.

Please think good thoughts for me.  I’m not exactly nervous, but I usually reserve strong feelings like that for right before a big event.  They are cutting me open though so some prayers and positive thoughts would be great.  Thanks!

 

3 Responses to “Going under the knife”

  1. Borchardt Consulting Says:

    You’ll do just fine. The crutches are for getting up and down stairs and into tighter spots that your little scooter won’t go. Ice, Elevate and rest for 3 days. After that, you’ll be ready to go – slowly.

  2. […] to attend all in the past month.  Since I still can’t wear fancy shoes {remember back to the bunion surgery in April?  I’m still stuck in gym shoes for the time being}, I decided I could at least look my […]

  3. […] will be five months since I had my bunion surgery.  Despite my silence on the topic recently I’ve actually been working very hard on my foot.  In […]


Leave a Reply

