Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

A Desk for Kelly April 18, 2012

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 8:10 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

For the past few weeks I’ve been trying to clear out our front landing. Currently it’s housing a few TV’s, a chair, a sideboard, desk and a few other random oddities. Most of the stuff we’ll be donating to a Relay for Life garage sale next week and the rest is either going back to Kelly’s dad’s house or to Matt’s house.  All except for one item…the desk.

Last year my friend Mia asked if I wanted a free desk. She had picked it up at her neighbor’s garage sale fifteen years ago. Somehow it got placed at the bottom of her to-do list and sat for another five years in her garage. Knowing that I like to re-do furniture, she offered it to me.

I took Kelly along for the ride as she’s in the market for a desk. It’s just the right size and has nice detailing giving it a nice personality. A few of the shelves were in need of help and Matt and his dad actually completely rebuilt the top one in the photo below. Wood looks a little newer doesn’t it? And yes, the bottom drawer also needs a little help from Matt as well. It’s in the works!

The Desk

So what am I going to do with it? Well, my inspiration came from the bamboo chair Kelly reupholstered. I’m going to blow up the pattern and stencil it onto the desk. After of course a good cleaning, sanding and base paint job. Here are the colors Kelly picked out:

Paint Colors!

They’re going to compliment the chair perfectly! I’m not sure yet about hardware. Most likely Kelly and I will have to schedule a trip to Hobby Lobby in the near future to check out a few options.

I’m looking forward to working on the desk and maybe even having some help…thanks Matt for volunteering! More photos on progress to come in the future!

 

Leave a Reply

