Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Summer Recipes May 23, 2012

Summer is a great time to try out new recipes. This season and pretty much until fall, you can start to cook with a whole new arsenal of fresh ingredients. My personal favorite part about summer cooking is being able to buy local produce. Kelly and I both enjoy going to the local farmer’s market to pick out off the vine fruit and vegetables. The only hard part is deciding what to make. There are so many tasty options from sides, to salads, to desserts, to drinks, to main dishes… Luckily, I have a few willing guinea pigs who are up for trying new recipes.

My first opportunity came this Sunday. Matt wanted to grill some ribs but needed a side. Armed with my recent edition of Cooking Light I was ready and willing. Thumbing through the “fun and easy” summer cookbook section I found the perfect option to accompany ribs – coleslaw. But this wasn’t your traditional creamy coleslaw, instead it was a tangy mustard vinegar based slaw. Have I peaked your interest? If that didn’t do it, I also found a recipe for piña coladas.

Cooking Light

What I love about Cooking Light is that all the recipes are ridiculously good and healthy for you. It’s always a win-win combo…even when you forget one or two ingredients at the grocery store. So usually I’m pretty good about making grocery lists. But somehow I missed the cilantro and cumin seeds for the Cabbage Slaw with Tangy Mustard Seed Dressing. Oops. Fortunately, I did have everything else to make the slaw and it still turned out really good! Next time I’ll just have to remember the cilantro and cumin.

The piña coladas were probably my favorite part of the meal. It is likely due to the fact that I’m a goner as soon as I read anything with coconut in the ingredients. The recipe was easy to follow and, since there were just two of us, there were plenty of leftovers. Plus I didn’t feel that bad since the “makeover” drink recipe featured in Cooking List had almost 250 calories and 7 grams of saturated fat less than the “classic” version. Cheers to that!

Stay tuned for future adventures in the kitchen combined with trips to the farmer’s market. Plus you might be in for special dual posts from Kelly and I regarding our adventures with our (Community Supported Agriculture) CSA and what dishes we decide to serve up!

 

Leave a Reply

