Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Have A Seat June 6, 2012

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 6:55 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Unfortunately I do not have a project update on the desk for this week. My friend Jill visited a few weeks ago and dropped off my stencil, so now I’ll be able to start on the detail work! More details and the final review to hopefully come before the end of June.

One reason the desk got sidelined was to redo my dining room chairs. From my previous post about lots and lots of furniture, Matt got my old chairs and my old dining room table. Being a gracious and awesome person, I offered to redo the chairs for a few reasons:

  1. The first time I redid my dining room chairs I totally forgot the batting;
  2. I cut the new cushions a little too short;
  3. And most recently the fabric was subject to two cats with claws…

As you can imagine now knowing the background, the chairs were sorely in need of a little TLC. My mom and I went to JoAnn’s to pick out a “manly” fabric and we selected this stripe pattern. Of course I didn’t realize until Jill pointed it out that stripes are one of the hardest fabrics to work with…oops!

Armed with my new fabric I was ready to get started. I also had an awesome helper (Jill), who once again reminded me to get the batting this time. We might have done a last minute run to JoAnn’s….it happens!

Jill was a huge help and right away we got an assembly line going. I took apart the chairs and together we divided up the seats and removed the old fabric. Our next step was to staple the batting over the foam. Once the batting was set, we carefully stapled the fabric. The key with the fabric and the batting was to pull tight and be sure not to cover up the screw holes to re-attach the seats to the chair.
I think the final product turned out pretty decent. What do you think?

 

One Response to “Have A Seat”

  1. Joannie Says:

    Looking good Karla and Jill!


Leave a Reply

