Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Bridal Gift- A Toast to Special Events July 4, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 1:35 am
Tags: , , , , ,

So I didn’t even open my new glue gun.  The projects I mentioned last week did not happen.  No Fear!  I did do a sort-of project.  I mean I got the idea from Pinterest.  That counts right?  Has anyone else seen this adorable idea for a bride to be?

Click the picture to read about it!

This weekend I had my friend’s Bachelorette party and I thought it was the perfect opportunity to put this project together.  I started off choosing a container for the wine bottles.  To me it was a very important detail.  I really wanted something rustic.  I decided to head over to Marshalls to start.  I prayed I would find something I liked and wouldn’t have to shop a million places {that seems to happen to me when I have a picture in my mind}.  Luckily I found a wire basket I loved right away.  I headed over to Binny’s Beverage Depot next to find the perfect wine bottles.  After a few laps around the wine department I was starting to feel like an alcy.  But eventually after some coaching on the phone {thanks Sarah!} a few stood out to me and I was in line and out the door with the bottles for my bachelorette gift.

Basically I chose bottles of wine with titles that have to do with special events in a couple’s life.  I chose three major events: first fight blowing over, first wedding anniversary, and finding out you are expecting.  It just so happened that the two I really liked had black and red labels.  That made it even easier to make a cohesive look.   I decided against using the poems in the example above and made my own tags.  The poems are cute, but I wanted something simpler.  I just bought plain white tags with white string and wrote with red marker on them:

Ass Kisser Bottle- ‘Open after your first fight has blown over’

Red Knot Bottle- ‘Open on the one year anniversary you tied the knot!’

Fre Bottle- ‘Open when you find out the two of you are expecting!’  <–Fre is alcohol-free wine made by Sutter Homes so even the mother-to-be can enjoy the celebration.

What do you think?

I used bubble wrap to fill the bottom of the basket and then strategically placed tissue paper to make the basket look really full.  I placed each bottle inside so you could read the labels and hung the tags around the necks {somehow I forgot to take a photo with the tags…oops}, and added a red satin bow.  I was very happy with the result and I think the bride enjoyed it as well

 

One Response to “Bridal Gift- A Toast to Special Events”

  1. […] Heart Wreath .March.- Diaper Cake .April.- Braid Bead Necklace .May.- Tiered potted plant .June.- Wine basket .July.- ‘M’ Button Initial .Aug.- Photo Strip Photo Frame .Sept.- Glass Block Bank .Oct.- […]


Leave a Reply

