Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Buttons for Babies August 9, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 5:43 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Babies Galore! That is a recent title of one of my photo albums. For the longest time…25 years to be exact, my mom’s side of the family hasn’t had any babies. We are pretty small on that side and it’s just my sister and I plus three cousins (they’re all siblings). In 2010, all three of them announced they were having their first child! It was a blessing and a major shock to the balance we have held over the years. Our youngest was my sister at 25 and all of a sudden we had newborns amongst us. Besides my cousin’s babies, two friend’s my age have had babies recently. With new little ones have come: Baby Showers, Baptisms, Christmas, and Birthdays. I was so excited to get a chance to purchase gifts for these events, but what to choose?

For a shower there is of course the registry and I’m a big believer in following that. I mean the parents asked for those things because they need them. I might as well help them out and make sure they have what they need. For the other occasions there is always clothes as a good standby. They are so much fun to shop for. I don’t know if anyone else feels the same way but stores make THE cutest baby clothes. When I go searching I usually find way too much stuff that I like! The hard thing about clothes is that babies grow out of clothes very quickly. I have done a few clothes items as gifts, but I decided to do a homemade gift for baptisms: a framed button initial/ monogram. My sister actually found me the inspiration on Pinterest and knew I usually craft with buttons so it was a perfect fit for me.

It’s very easy to do:

  1. Choose a color scheme, including a frame, background paper, and any buttons or embellishments you’ll be using for the initial or monogrammed letter.
  1. Find an example of the letter you are looking to monogram or you could sketch it on your own. If you find it elsewhere, trace it onto the paper you’ll be using.
  1. Arrange all the buttons and/or embellishments in order to fit them within the traced or sketched monogram letter. *I found the initial looks cuter when there is more than one color and many different kind of buttons included*
  1. Turn on your hot glue gun.
  1. Leaving all the pieces in place, start picking each one up and gluing it down until everything is glued down. *After gluing the arrangement might differ a bit from what you originally planned, but as long as the overall picture still looks like the letter you are creating it is okay*
  1. Now go back and erase the pencil marks from around the letter’s perimeter.
  1. Look for any left over glue strings and try to remove as much as possible.
  1. Write a cute note on the back of the background paper and place in the frame.

It’s really pretty simple. The only downside is that it’s a bit time consuming, but once you’ve done a few of them it gets easier and faster. Here are a few of the initials I’ve created:

Aiden’s A

Averie’s A

Michael’s M

 

One Response to “Buttons for Babies”

  1. […] Diaper Cake .April.- Braid Bead Necklace .May.- Tiered potted plant .June.- Wine basket .July.- ‘M’ Button Initial .Aug.- Photo Strip Photo Frame .Sept.- Glass Block Bank .Oct.- Ribbon Organizer .Nov.- Earring […]


Leave a Reply

