Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Hair Bow September 4, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve had a lot of fancy occasions lately.  In fact I had a bridal shower, a bachelorette party, and two weddings to attend all in the past month.  Since I still can’t wear fancy shoes {remember back to the bunion surgery in April?  I’m still stuck in gym shoes for the time being}, I decided I could at least look my best above my feet.  One area I have always struggled with is my hair.  I’ve never been very good at doing my hair and it isn’t one of those things you can have ready ahead of time.  The outfit and jewelry can all be laid out ready to wear, but the hair has to really be done the day of.   I decided that practice makes perfect so the other night for my cousin’s going away party {she is all grown up and going to college now} I tried a hairstyle I found on Pinterest:

Please click to reach original source: Hair and Makeup by Steph

I put my hair in ‘up and down’ or as some technical people call it, ‘half up half down’ all the time.  I think I look too severe with it all the way up and then it gets in my way when it’s all the way down hence half and half.  So step one is very simple for me…

1.  Pull two chunks of hair from the side of your face to the back and secure with a clear rubber band.

{My tip here is to make sure you pull enough hair back.  You want enough hair to make the bow later on}

2.  Don’t pull your hair all the way through.  Make a loop instead.

3.  Take the loop and divide it into two pieces.

4.  Grab a bobby pin and pin down each of the two pieces so they look like the loops of a bow.

{This part was the hardest for me.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but my arms get tired from keeping them in the air so long.  And it’s hard to see what I’m doing on my own head.  I had to concentrate really hard on how to hold my hair and pin it down at the same time.  Didn’t I say I needed practice!}

5.   Take any extra pieces and wrap them around the middle of the bow.

Ta Da! My Messy Hair Bow

I decided to leave it as is and have a little bit messy of a bow.  At least that is what I told myself when I ran out the door after trying a few times to get it as neat as above.  In the end I knew people would be able to tell it was a bow and I did get quite a few compliments so I was happy.  Guess what they say is true: Practice makes Perfect!

 

Leave a Reply

