Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Wedding Planning Update September 12, 2012

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 9:36 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This past weekend was wedding extravaganza. As many of the readers know, I got engaged about a month ago. But what our readers may not know is that my best friend Jill is having her U.S. wedding in December. So, between the two of us there is a lot of wedding stuff going on.

Friday night we got caught up on how things were progressing with each of our endeavors. I cooked an excellent chicken, pasta and basil bake and then we headed over to Oberweis for dessert. Once we got back we got straight to work. Well, more like Jill put me to work.

We set up two stations at the dining room table to make paper flowers. Instead of real flowers at her wedding, Jill is creating paper ones. Since Jill has contracted my services before, and my results weren’t exactly spectacular, I limited myself to just stamping and rolling. I’m a firm believer at sticking with my strengths. Plus this time around, Jill gave much better directions on how to make the flower petals. We were able to crank out seven petals for the flowers that night.

Image

Paper Flowers

To help you visualize the flowers here is a picture. Below is the example of when Jill didn’t give good directions. Hence, my flower is on the right and hers is on the left.

The next morning we had a leisurely breakfast before heading over to meet up with my mom and future mother-in law for wedding dress shopping. We had a great time and even enjoyed a meal at the Cheesecake Factory per Jill’s request. The day flew by and was full of a lot of emotions. I won’t give any more details besides the fact that I did say, “yes to the dress”.

But the shopping was not over. Jill and I headed over to Hobby Lobby for some crafty purchases. An idea I have for our save the date had me looking for cut-out numbers, which I chose after looking at a couple of different font choices. Jill bought a few items for her centerpieces as well as some more ink for stamping her flowers. Thank you to Coupon Sherpa for letting us get 40% of one item using the mobile application. Sweet!

With our Hobby Lobby bags in hand, we headed back to my apartment for more crafting. Setting aside two hours we blasted through making enough petals for another six flowers. After that accomplishment we treated ourselves to a movie. We naturally had to  stick with the theme of the weekend, so we watched “Made of Honor”.

Sunday was resource day. We pinned on Pinterest, and swapped a few websites, newsletters and books. It was a great day to wrap up all that we had accomplished and to get more ideas for the future. Can’t wait to see what’s in store!

 

Leave a Reply

