Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Not So Bad November 13, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

It’s been a rough couple of days around here.  This weekend I traveled to Iowa to see family.  It was great to see everyone, but I wish it didn’t take 5 hours to reach them!  I guess I am spoiled because besides this family in Iowa and one more family in Colorado, all my family is pretty much centered around Chicago.  Our drive home was awfully rainy and windy, but I can’t complain about that too much either because my dad drove us.  I got home in the evening and found Stella lying on the floor.   I thought it was odd because she always comes up to the door and greets me.  I was distracted putting all my things down but by the time I was done filling the cat bowls with food  and she didn’t run over to her bowl I knew something was wrong.  Sure enough when I went over to her she tried to run away, but instead she hobbled away!  I made Karla come check it out and she confirmed Stella was limping.  I contemplated taking her to the pet emergency room, but I knew it would be very costly.  I have a friend who is a vet tech so I called her and she said if there was no blood, no vomiting, and she wasn’t crying that I could wait until morning to take her.  Luckily she wasn’t experiencing any of those symptoms so all I did was keep her away from Harlo.  He likes to play and she is usually the one being chased…since she was at a disadvantage I thought it was only fair to give her some space.  I took the poor little girl in on Monday morning and thankfully found out it was only a bruise or sprain.  The vet couldn’t find any evidence of a break and he gave me some pain pills so she could relax and be comfortable while she heals.  I was so happy that it wasn’t anything serious!  Could you imagine little Stella with a cast on?

Poor Kitty in a Cast

On the way home I felt my car pulling to the right.  I knew something was wrong, but hoped I was imagining it.  I drove the mile home to my house and when I got out saw a flat tire on my passenger side.  So sad!  Here I was already going into work late because of Stella and now I was going to be delayed even further!

 Karla & Matt to the rescue!  It’s funny how everything seemed to work out for me even though unpleasant things were happening.  I remembered that Karla hadn’t driven to work {a crippled elbow will do that to you} so I called her and asked to borrow Derek {don’t ask me…she’s the one who named her car!}.  She graciously agreed and even sent Matt over to bring me the keys.  He was very sweet to leave work and bring them to me so I didn’t have to walk a couple miles there and back.  When I got home I enlisted Dave to help me change my flat tire.  We used teamwork to get through it: I jacked the car up and down and he took the wheel off and put the spare on.  Then I bribed him with a home cooked meal and a treat from Whole Foods {he is a bit obsessed with that place, but that’s another story}.  I had called the local Car-X earlier in the day and they told me to leave the car and put the keys through the mail slot and they would look at it today.  I called the gentleman from Car-X today and he informed me there was a small problem with my tire valve, but they were able to fix it.  They had already put my tire back on for me too.   I was surprised it was so simple and asked him how much I owed him.  He said don’t worry about it, it wasn’t a big deal and there was no charge.  How amazing is that!?  I couldn’t get over how kind that was.  I don’t know much about cars, which was probably evident by our conversation and yet he did not take advantage of me.  It restores my faith in car places and mechanics.  And now I know where I’ll go the next time I have a car issue!

Tonight I walked over to Car-X to pick up my car I realized how blessed I was.  Even though I had a couple bumps in the road this week, they all turned out to be not so bad.  I think the picture above has the right idea.  The way you think about things effects the way you feel and the way you feel effects everything you do.  I’d prefer if those effects were positive!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

