Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

For Bakers Who Don’t Bake November 27, 2012

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 8:14 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This week is a blur already and its only Tuesday!  It’s my first week at my new job so that is a big contributor.  Have you ever heard the phrase, ‘drinking through a fire hose?’  People usually talk about it when you are learning something new or getting a lot of new information all at one time.  You can’t actually drink from a fire hose because there is too much water coming out at once.  It’s a good analogy for a new job because you can’t possibly learn all the things you’ve been told about all at one time.  I know no one expects me to remember every little detail yet, but I still get mad at myself when I can’t remember it all!  In the spirit of simplicity and not throwing too much your way, let me share this lovely coffee cake recipe that a co-worker shared with me.  I must preface this with a little story {of course}!

The Story:

Right before I left my last job we held a potluck for Thanksgiving at work.  Everyone brought it a dish and as tradition dictates, people start eating the food at 9am.  Everything is eaten at this time, not just the breakfasty things.  This was a shocker to me when I started there and always will be.  Who eats meatballs at 9am?  Anyhow, at this potluck there was a beautiful tray full of coffeecake.  I tried a piece and was in love.  Who was the expert baker who brought this?!  I asked around and found out it was a women in the accounting department.  She proceeded to tell me how much she hates baking and that the cake is one of the easiest recipes she’s ever come across.  She shared the recipe with me the next day and I proceeded to make it myself for the Third Annual Swap (Karla and I held at the apartment this weekend).  It was a hit so here it goes…

The Ingredients:

2 packages seamless dough crescent rolls (you can use the ones with seams but it makes it a bit harder to work with the dough)

2 packages of cream cheese (softened- again just easier to work with)

¾ cup white sugar

1 Tbs vanilla

1 egg yolk

Powdered Sugar- as much as you want!

The Directions:

  1.  Grease a 9×13 pan and preheat your oven to 350°
  2. Open one package of crescent dough, place it on the bottom of the greased pan
  3. Blend- both cream cheese packages, sugar, vanilla, and egg yolk in a separate bowl. (I used my immersion blender for this, the original recipe says mix by hand.  I was going for easy.)
  4. Pour the blended mixture over the top of the crescent roll in the bottom of the pan.
  5. Open the second package of crescent dough and put it on top of the mixture you just poured in the pan.
  6. Place the pan in the oven for 30 minutes.
  7. Remove, let cool and cut into coffee cake pieces.
  8. Garnish with powdered sugar if you please.
 

3 Responses to “For Bakers Who Don’t Bake”

  1. sweetaddict Says:

    I love that recipe, and it’s a hit every time I make it. Thanks for reminding me to make it again!


Leave a Reply

