Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Holiday Gifting December 20, 2012

This year, I had a very Pinterest Christmas!  When Krista and I did our Christmas crafting, we created a pinboard just for ideas we wanted to try.  I thought I’d share a few of the cute and simple ones with you for some last minute (and budget-conscious) gift and stocking stuffer ideas.

For our friends out here in Colorado, Jonathan had the brilliant idea of trying to make our own caramel.  After we perfected our batches of salted caramels that we intended to gift, I decided to make candy dishes from an idea I saw on Pinterest to put them in.

Image

Image

ImageWe bought $2 white and colored bowls from Walmart, and wrote on them in permanent marker.  If you bake your bowls at 200 degrees for 30 minutes, the marker stays on!  The phrases I put around the outside rims included: “May all your Christmases be white,” “Have yourself a merry little Christmas,” “As visions of sugarplums danced in their heads,” “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow,” and “There’s no place like home for the holidays.”  The inside pictures corresponded with the rim quote.

I was also on the hunt for some cute homemade and useful stocking stuffers for my family.  They already have a lot of stuff, so I wanted to give them things they could use up or get use out of repeatedly.  I stumbled upon these cuties on Pinterest, warming pockets!  To get the tutorial, check out Bee in My Bonnet’s site.

Image

ImageThese were perfect for my college brother (think tailgating!), my mom (a teacher has to do recess duty), my dad (has a Chicago morning commute), and my boyfriend (skiing and snowshoeing in chilly Colorado snow).

The other stocking stuffer I found were fire starters.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to come up with gifts for the men in my life at all, let alone for stockings.  I figured these are perfect use-up items that a man can have on hand.

Image

ImageI rolled cinnamon sticks, pinecones, and crumpled newspaper in mine, but if you want a different scent, try dried rosemary and sage leaves for an herbal flair.

There are a few other homemade holiday gifts coming next week that you can also use as birthday and hostess gifts year round, so keep your eyes peeled!  I just can’t reveal them all yet, since some of our readers or fellow bloggers may be receiving them for Christmas, and I hate to spoil a fun surprise…

 

Leave a Reply

