Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Volunteering at the 2013 Cookie Rally January 8, 2013

My friend Hollice sent an email last week asking who wanted to attend a volunteer event at the AllState this past weekend.  When she mentioned it was through One Brick and it was for the Girl Scout Cookie Rally I couldn’t say no.  She picked me up on Saturday afternoon and we drove to Rosemont.  There was a Wolves game at 4pm, but families and troops could come starting at 2pm to get in the spirit of cookie selling!

gs and more 005

When we got there we were given t-shirts {that are inspirational} and told that there was some down time before the volunteering started.  Apparently we were going to help set up some of the Girl Scout’s booths, but they were so prepared {just like their motto!} that they didn’t need as much help as originally planned.  Since we had time, Hollice and I made our way around the arena to check out the different booths and activities for the girls.  We came upon this adorable backdrop and of course I made Hollice take my picture and then coaxed her into her own picture.  I’m just a bit photo obsessed.

gs and more 009

gs and more 010

 

gs and more 014

There were activities for all different ages: Daisies, Brownies, Juniors, and Cadettes.  Then we came to an area that covered the history of the Girl Scouts.  We didn’t have a lot of time to linger, but I did manage to snap a photo of the vintage cookie boxes.  I wish I could have captured a picture of the girls dressed in uniforms from throughout the different years, but again we were short on time.  We made our way up to the t-shirt area.  Girls and their families started pouring through the doors and we started handing out t-shirts so everyone could be in the Girl Scout Cookie spirit.  That includes dads and brothers too!  The whole thing made me extremely nostalgic for the days when I was a Girl Scout.  I was remembering all the fun things we did as a troop.  Definitely a fun trip down memory lane for me.  Oh and it was also nice to be able to lend a hand at the same time.

I’ll leave you with a picture of the Girl Scout Promise and the Girl Scout Law.  I made Hollice test me and I almost got the whole promise correct.  I only left out ‘at all times’ in the third line!

gs and more 012

 

2 Responses to “Volunteering at the 2013 Cookie Rally”

  1. So cool! Wish I could have been there with you, it sounds like a fun experience.

  2. […] Girl Scout Rally Feb- Pennies for Patients May- MS Walk Nov- Leaf Raking for Seniors with Global Hope Dec- Science […]


Leave a Reply

