Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

What to do to show someone you love them when you agreed ‘no gifts’ February 14, 2013

I’m not huge on Valentines Day.  I mean, I like it fine and all, but I don’t see the need in giving or getting extravagant gifts for the holiday.  I enjoy having a relaxed Valentines Day, spending some time with loved ones, and really just soaking in the love around me!  So Jonathan and I have never really gotten each other Valentines gifts.  We typically spend the evening together and either go out to eat or cook something nice together and exchange little things (like sweet cards).  This year I was feeling extra lovey, but we agreed no gifts.  Not only is that usually the agreement, but we are on a tight budget right now, preparing to celebrate many friends’ love at weddings this year!  So here was my solution…

Image

I must be honest, I scoured Pinterest for some of these creative and low-cost or completely cost-free ideas.

1.  I wrote on our bathroom mirror in dry erase marker.  Jonathan leaves for the gym really early in the morning, and then by the time he gets home I’ve left for work.  So I thought this would be a fun surprise to come home to this morning.

2.  I filled an empty jar with Reese’s pieces and gave it the tag line “I love you to pieces.” This one was a little bit of a cheat, because I did have to buy the Reese’s pieces.

3.  I made heart garland so he sees it when he walks in the doorway this evening.  This is one of the perks of being a teacher, I have plenty of construction paper and string at my disposal, and I’ve mastered the folded-in-half heart cut out.

4.  I rushed home from work today to make fresh homemade butter cookies.  I used my great grandma’s recipe, but formed them into hearts and cut out two little people (using a gingerbread cookie cutter I already had!) so it looks like two little people in love.  Since I adore baking, this one was at no extra cost seeing as we already had all the ingredients in our pantry.

So far today, the surprises have been appreciated…can’t wait til they continue when Jonathan comes home tonight!  I know the holiday is as well as past now, but these are fun things to remember for an anniversary, a future Valentines day, or just any old day to say “I love you” without breaking the bank.

 

Leave a Reply

